$50K Players Championship Pulls 102 Entrants, Jaka Loves Ante Only

Faraz Jaka loves the Ante Only event because he can outlevel people. (Photo by Drew Amato)

Faraz Jaka loves the Ante Only event because he can outlevel people. (Photo by Drew Amato)

Monday at the 2014 World Series of Poker saw four events in action with just one bracelet up for grabs. The $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event returned 15 players with the goal of crowing a champion. The $1,000 NLH event rolled into Day 2 with 144 players remaining and the $50,000 Poker Players Championship began Day 2 with 80 players returning.

The only new event on the schedule is the $1,500 Ante Only event which had cards in the air at noon.

$1,500 Ante Only 

The Ante Only event returned for the third year in a row with a field of 651 at the midway point with a little time left for late registration. Jonathan Driscoll holds the early lead as the field prepared to go on their dinner break.

Amanda Baker, Faraz Jaka, Chance Kornuth, Joseph Cheong and Jake Cody are just a few of the notables in the event with an above average stack. Joe Kuether, Jenniefer Shahade, Olivier Busquet and Aaron Massey were eliminated before the dinner break.

“I love this event because it’s different,” Jaka said. “A lot of poker players memorize a manuscript of how to play No Limit Hold’em and the second you throw in some new scenarios they have to start using their brain again and a lot of people aren’t so good at doing that. I like any kind of variation because every single spot is unique – limp-raise preflop and seeing flops with eight players – which usually never happens.”

“It forces people to think and you can outlevel each other,” Jaka continued. “That’s fun to me. It doesn’t favor aggression or patience, the tournament in dynamic-dependent. It’s really tabled dependent.”

Top Ten Chip Counts

  1. Jonathan Driscoll – 33,000
  2. Barry Woods – 30,150
  3. Antoine Saout – 28,300
  4. Joe Tehan – 28,000
  5. Dylan Hortin – 24,700
  6. Amanda Baker – 24,100
  7. Julio De la Rosa – 22,000
  8. Jonathan Little – 21,000
  9. Scott Abrams – 21,000
  10. Soi Nguyen – 20,500

$1,500 No Limit Hold’em

The only event to see its Day 3 had 15 players return at 1 pm to play down to a winner. Brandon Ageloff was the only player to bag over one million with Ray Foley in a close second with 993,000.

The remaining players made the final table after about three hours of action with Evan McNiff leading the table. Jordan Morgan made his first WSOP final table since 2007 where he finished in seventh place of an Omaha Hi-Lo event.

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Evan McNiff – 2,500,000
  2. Jordan Morgan – 1,800,000
  3. Joseph Larussi – 1,600,000
  4. Ray Foley – 850,000
  5. Jason Johnson – 800,000
  6. Bryan Dillon – 450,000

$1,000 No Limit Hold’em

The bargain-priced event attracted 1,841 entrants and only 144 of them survived to make Day 2. Jonathan Bodden bagged the overnight chip lead with 143,000 from the starting stack of only 3,000.

Ari Engel has torn up the WSOP Circuit with six rings and has amassed over $1.3 million in tournament winning, but he has yet to capture a bracelet. Engel was asked if this event was going to be the one he wins. “I hope so, I’m trying to run good in it. It’s just another day.” he said. “My day has been up and down and I have a little less than what I started the day with but I’m still above average and all is good. I’ve had a quiet summer so hopefully this is it.”

Top Ten Chip Counts

  1. Jonathan Bodden – 435,000
  2. Lily Kiletto – 295,000
  3. Valentino Konakchiev – 205,000
  4. Stanislas Le Marchand – 204,000
  5. Duy Ho – 188,000
  6. Loren Klein – 185,000
  7. Brandon Hall – 184,000
  8. Will Givens – 173,000
  9. Patrick Curzio – 170,000
  10. Anthony Hallam – 165,000

$50,000 Poker Players Championship

Day 1 of the prestigious $50,000 event saw 85 players take to the felt and 80 players bagged up at the end of the night. Late registration was open until the first break of the day and the field had a total of 102 entrants.

Shaun Deeb held the chip lead at the midway point of the day with Matt Glantz, Scott Clements and Eli Elezra in the top ten counts. Michael Mizrachi, Andy Bloch, Calvin Anderson and Doyle Brunson remain in the field. Melissa Burr was one of two women in the field and the only one remaining after Vanessa Selbst was eliminated late on Day 1.

The field combined to make a $4,896,000 prize pool that will pay out the top 14 finishers. The winner will earn $1,517,767, second place is worth nearly a million with $937,975. A trip to the final table will guarantee $134,101 and the min-cash will be worth $99,388.

“I feel good – I have an ok table, I mean, what do you expect from this field?” Anderson said. “I’ve eaten 100% raw vegan, only drink water or coconut water and doing yoga in the mornings. I’m getting good amounts of sleep and really focusing on poker. I just play, eat, sleep and do yoga.”

“This is a really special tournament,” Anderson continued. “The best players in the world are here and eight of the most popular games, so winning it would be really special to me. It’s something I’ve really wanted to go for, it would mean a lot to me.”

Top Ten Chip Counts

  1. Shaun Deeb – 394,000
  2. Matt Glantz – 330,000
  3. Scott Clements – 308,000
  4. Dylan Linde – 300,000
  5. Eli Elezra – 290,000
  6. Josh Arieh – 274,000
  7. Jonathan Duhamel – 270,000
  8. John Hennigan – 267,000
  9. Gary Benson – 255,000
  10. Richard Ashby – 255,000

Kevmath Recommends…

Phil Hellmuth was eliminated from the $50,000 Poker Players’ Championship, but he seems to be taking it in stride.


The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join PokerNews.com. After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories