Calvin Anderson Leads $10K HORSE While Two Final Tables are Underway


Calvin Anderson leads Day 2 of the $10,000 HORSE Championship (Drew Amato Photo)

Monday marks the close of the two week mark of the 2014 World Series of Poker, but the action hasn’t slowed down at all.

With Day 2 of the $10,000 HORSE Championship, most of Poker’s elite were in the Rio on Monday afternoon. All while John Hennigan battles for his third bracelet and a few top flight pros battle it out for a Shootout title.

$10,000 HORSE

One of the most prestigious events of the WSOP started its second day of play on Monday afternoon. 121 players returned out of the original 200 player field for Day 2 of the $10,000 HORSE Championship. As expected, the field is full of world-class players and as the players take their second break of the day, they are down to 73 players and Calvin Anderson is atop the chip counts.

Greg Mueller and Shawn Buchanan join Anderson at the top of the leaderboard along with Max Pescatori and Jeff Madsen, who round out the top five stacks.

Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth, Daniel Negreanu, Justin Bonomo, and Michael Mizrachi are also still alive and looking to add another title to their resume. Mizrachi came into the day as one of the bigger stacks, but had a tough run of cards after the first break to head to the second break with 50,000.

“My brother and I have been playing all the games for years and years in a lot of cash games,” said Mizrachi on the first break. “I know all the games fairly well and I’ve accomplished a lot over the last decade. I feel really good in the HORSE games and I play all the games pretty decent. I like my chances, but there are a lot of great players in this tournament and you do have to get lucky too.”

Phil Laak, David Bach, Joe Cassidy, Phil Ivey, David Chiu and Barry Greenstein are just a couple of notables who hit the rail earlier in the day.

Here are a look at the top 10 chip counts:

  1. Calvin Anderson – 230,000
  2. Greg Mueller – 172,000
  3. Shawn Buchanan – 160,000
  4. Max Pescatori – 156,000
  5. Jeff Madsen – 1550,000
  6. Cory Zeidman – 150,000
  7. Andrey Zaichenko – 1440,000
  8. Brian Hastings – 143,000
  9. Francesco Barbaro – 141,500
  10. Josh Arieh – 141,000

$1,500 No Limit Hold’em

The day started at 1 pm PST (4 pm EST) with 12 players but after Gregg Merkow and Ron Mcmillen were eliminated in 11th and 12th respectively, they were down to the unofficial final table of 10. Darin Stout burst the final table bubble, getting eliminated in 10th place and setting the official final table of nine players.

Dylan Thomassie busted in ninth place for $37,834 and Edison Shields finished right behind him in eighth place for $49,267 to leave the table with its final seven players.

John Hennigan headlines the final table and is looking to secure his third career bracelet and first in No Limit Hold’em. He currently second in chips behind Mustapha Kanit.

Here are a look at the chip counts:

  1.  Mustapha Kanit – 2,500,000
  2. John Hennigan – 1,600,000
  3. Hiren Patel – 1,150,000
  4. Dejan Divkovic – 990,00
  5. Ted Gillis – 780,000
  6. Jacobo Fernandez – 705,000
  7. Jaime Kaplan – 610,000

$1,000 No Limit Hold’em Turbo 

The only two-day event of the summer got underway at noon PST (3 pm EST) with the $1,000 No Limit Hold’em Turbo event getting 1,473 entries. Levels are 30 minutes long on Day 1 and will be increased to 40 minutes long on Day 2.

As the field moves into the 11th level of the day, they have already trimmed the field to just 207 and are rapidly approaching the money bubble, with 171 players earning a payday.

Even with the quick structure, the cream is still rising to the top with Matt Glantz currently sitting as the chip leader with 70,000. Christina Lindley is fifth in chips with 41,000 and Anthony Gregg is also a top 10 stack with 33,000.

Brandon Meyers, Jimmy Fricke, Faraz Jaka, Griffin Benger, Jesse Sylvia, and Athanasios Polychronopoulos are a few notable pros who are still alive for the $251,969 first place prize.

The structure caught up to some other well-known pros though with plenty of them hitting the rail before the dinner break. Vanessa Selbst, Allen Cunningham, Kathy Liebert, Mike Sowers, Liv Boeree, and Mohsin Charania are just a couple of the players who were unable to survive long enough to earn a cash.

$3,000 No Limit Hold’em Shootout 

The final 10 players returned to the Rio at 2 pm PST (5 pm EST) with a couple top flight pros still in the hunt for their second career bracelet.  After the first four levels of play, 9 players still remain. Phil Galfond, Chris Bell, and Taylor Paur are all in contention and looking to earn their second bracelet in this shootout event.

Narenda Banwari was eliminated in 10th place when his pocket sevens lost a race against Jack Duong’s AJ. Duong turned an ace to send Banwari home with $16,609. The final nine players are guaranteed at least $21,409 and are still alive for the $254,891 to first place.

Here are a look at the chip counts:

  1. Chris Bell – 551,000
  2. Phil Galfond – 512,000
  3. Eric Wasserson – 483,000
  4. Jack Duong – 392,000
  5. Noah Bronstein – 367,000
  6. Taylor Paur – 364,000
  7. Michael Stonehill – 324,000
  8. Dylan Linde – 240,000
  9. Kory Kilpatrick – 218,000

$1,000 No Limit Hold’em

Day 2 of the $1,000 No Limit Hold’em got cards in the air at 1 pm PST (4 pm EST) with 168 players returning to the Amazon room from the original starting field of 2,043. All 168 players were already in the money when they walked in the door with the money bubble being burst late on Day 1.

As the day inches towards the dinner break, there are 58 players remaining with a few familiar faces near the top of the chip counts. Former November Niner Soi Nguyen is the chip leader with 227,400. Fresh off a WSOP National Championship, Dominik Nitsche is close on his heels with 220,000 in chips.

Thayer Rasmussen, JC Tran, Mukul Pahuja and Jeff Gross are a few of the notables still alive. Not everybody was lucky enough to stay alive though. David Williams, Zo Karim, James Mackey, Jason Koon and Zo Karim all were eliminated before the dinner break.

The staff hopes to reach a final table of nine by the night’s end, which will re-start at 1 pm PST (4 pm EST) on Tuesday afternoon. All of the players are guaranteed $4,670, but have their heart set on the top prize of $335,659.

Kevmath Recommends….

BLUFF Player of the Year leader Mike McDonald is heading to Vegas, you’ve been warned.

Jimmy Fricke wants to earn something that’s almost as valuable as a WSOP bracelet.



Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories