Anthony Zinno Closes Gap on Urbanovich with Two WSOP Final Tables

Anthony Zinno moved into second place with two Championship final tables.

Anthony Zinno moved into second place with two Championship final tables.

Dzmitry Urbanovich still leads the 2015 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings despite being too young to play at any 2015 World Series of Poker events. While he sits idle, Anthony Zinno closed the gap and crossed the 800-point mark and moved up four spots to second place.

Zinno has been on fire this year and two final tables at the WSOP earned him 139.24 POY points. He first took sixth place in the $10,000 Omaha Hi-Lo Championship for his first non-Hold’em cash since the 2014 WSOP.

Then Zinno finished in seventh place in the $5,000 No Limit Hold’em Eight Max event for $64,484 and 66.64 POY points. Zinno’s climb in the poker world has been nothing less than dramatic with a World Poker Tour POY title.

Erik Seidel climbed just one spot in the standings despite earning 88 POY points in the last week. After a couple close calls, Seidel made his first final table of the 2015 WSOP in the $10,000 No Limit Deuce to Seven Championship. He finished in fourth place for $59,532 behind Phil Galfond, Nick Schulman and Dan Smith.

Seidel’s other two WSOP cashes were an 11th place in the $10,000 Razz Championship for $22,597 and 11 POY points and 18th place in the $10,000 Omaha Hi-Lo Championship for $30,941 and 11 POY points. Seidel’s three Championship cashes followed a runner-up finish in an Aria $25,000 High Roller event for $354,000 and 164.50 POY points.

Benjamin Zamani debuted in the top 20 in eighth place following two final tables in one week. He first finished runner-up in the $1,500 NLH Shootout for 146.30 POY points and then he won his first bracelet in a $1,500 NLH event with 1,844 entrants for $460,640 and 253 POY points.

Zamani also cashed in the Monster Stack event in 140th place but his POY points have not been added as the final table hadn’t concluded at time of publication.

2015 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings (as of June 17)

  1. Dzmitry Urbanovich – 888.53 (-)
  2. Anthony Zinno – 804.94 (+4)
  3. Nick Petrangelo – 793.09 (-1)
  4. Erik Seidel – 769.36 (+1)
  5. Steve O’Dwyer – 736.46 (-2)
  6. Paul Volpe – 692.70 (-2)
  7. Scott Seiver – 630.96 (-)
  8. Benjamin Zamani – 609.48 (NR)
  9. Bryn Kenney – 606.38 (-1)
  10. Tom Marchese – 604.20 (-1)
  11. Taylor Paur – 574.89 (-)
  12. Nick Pupillo – 566.70 (-2)
  13. Stephen Chidwick – 559.66 (+2)
  14. Jason Wheeler – 552.28 (-1)
  15. Joe Kuether – 536.36 (-3)
  16. Atanas Kavrakov – 531.64 (+1)
  17. Connor Drinnan – 529.30 (-3)
  18. Dan Smith – 528.26 (NR)
  19. Michael Wang – 522.20 (-3)
  20. Dominik Nitsche – 508.22 (NR)

Dropped from Rankings: Ivan Luca (18th), David Peters (19th), Mustapha Kanit (20th)

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories