Anthony Zinno Leads as Steve O’Dwyer Moves to 2nd in POY Standings

Steve O'Dwyer won a Macau Poker Cup event for $127,841. (Photo courtesy of PokerStars)

Steve O’Dwyer won a Macau Poker Cup event for $127,841. (Photo courtesy of PokerStars)

Anthony Zinno leads the 2015 BLUFF Player of the Year standings by better than 50 points due to his back-to-back World Poker Tour wins, but Steve O’Dwyer jumped up to the second spot while four new players debuted in the top 20.

Taylor Paur, Yuguan Li, 2010 BLUFF Player of the Year Sorel Mizzi and William Miner all cracked into the top 20 spots which sent Phil Ivey down the 20th spot and dangerously close to falling of the list.

Zinno ran pretty pure the last couple of weeks and added a third win in less than a month on the World Poker Tour. He most recently took down the Bay 101 Shooting Star High Roller for close to $200,000, bud didn’t earn any POY points because it fell short of the 36-player minimum to qualify.

O’Dwyer pushed his 2015 earnings past $2 million just two and half months into the year with his win in a PokerStars Macau Poker Cup 22 preliminary event. O’Dwyer beat out 2012 November Niner Russell Thomas and WSOP bracelet winner and APPT champ Aaron Lim.

Paur won the largest prize of his career, by 3.5 times, and his first WPT title by taking down the Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic. He bested a final table that included Isaac Baron, Jake Bazeley, Sorel Mizzi and Faraz Jaka – arguably the most talented WPT final table in some time.

Li picked up a couple final table runs in Macau-based events in 2014, but in one week’s time he won two tournaments at the Macau Poker 22. He first took down a $1,545 event for $246,000 and then won the $10,300 High Roller for $211,997.

Mizzi made his third final table of the year at the Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic with a fourth place finish for $310,060. Miner found himself the rankings after four cashes in the Chicago Poker Classic series, including a win in a Turbo event for $17,793.

2015 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings (as of March 18)

  1. Anthony Zinno – 544.50 (-)
  2. Steve O’Dwyer – 485.86 (+7)
  3. Tom Marchese – 470.00 (-1)
  4. Taylor Paur – 433.14 (NR)
  5. Scott Seiver – 432.16 (-2)
  6. Jose Montes – 423.75 (-2)
  7. Nick Petrangelo – 412.54 (-2)
  8. Yuguang Li – 409.00 (NR)
  9. Joe Kuether – 381.00 (-3)
  10. Kevin Schulz – 360.00 (-3)
  11. Alexander Trevallion – 331.60 (-3)
  12. Manny Stavropoulos – 296.00 (-2)
  13. Sorel Mizzi – 295.98 (NR)
  14. Brian Altman – 287.20 (-3)
  15. Marc Etienne McLaughlin – 287.00 (-3)
  16. Ognyan Dimov – 284.20 (-3)
  17. William Miner – 282.60 (NR)
  18. Aaron Mermelstein – 282.53 (-4)
  19. Ilkin Garibli – 282.00 (-4)
  20. Phil Ivey – 279.60 (-4)

Dropped from Rankings: Paul Volpe (17th), Bryn Kenney (18th), Josh Kay (19th), Anthony Gregg (20th)

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories