Anthony Zinno Leads Player of the Year After Back-to-Back WPT Wins

Anthony Zinno now sits tied with Gus Hansen and Carlos Mortensen for the all-time lead in WPT titles.

Anthony Zinno now sits tied with Gus Hansen and Carlos Mortensen for the all-time lead in WPT titles.

Anthony Zinno joined some elite company in the World Poker Tour’s record books by winning back-to-back titles, his third overall, and took over the top spot in the 2015 BLUFF Player of Year standings.

Zinno earned 510 POY points in two short weeks from his WPT wins, giving him a 74.5 point lead over former leader Tom Marchese. The only other player gaining positive ground in the standings was Scott Seiver.

Zinno’s 2015 began at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure with a 25th place finish in an $1,100 re-entry event for $2,740 and 6.5 POY points. Then he made the trip to Florida for the WPT Lucky Hearts Poker Open where he finished in 23rd place in the main event for $14,789 and 28 POY points.

Those two scores were just a warm up for Zinno’s impressive back-to-back wins. The WPT Fallsview Classic in Niagra Falls pulled 419 entrants for a $1.5 million prizepool. Zinno picked up 210 POY points and $314,629 for the win at a final table that included Jeremy Halaska and Erik Cajelais.

Zinno flew across the country for the L.A. Poker Classic for a much bigger field of 538 entrants and a $5 million prizepool. After navigating a final table that included Mike Leah, Chris Klodnicki and Peter Neff, Zinno won $1.015 million and 300 POY points.

Zinno joins Gus Hansen and Carlos Mortensen as the only players to win three WPT titles.

Seiver had an unbelievable start to the year with cashing in both PCA High Roller events and then at the Aussie Millions $100,000 and $250,000 where he made the final table in each for nearly $2 million. Most recently, he took 32nd place in the LAPC Main Event for $30,900 and 30 POY points.

2015 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings (as of March 12)

  1. Anthony Zinno – 544.50 (NR)
  2. Tom Marchese – 470.00 (-1)
  3. Scott Seiver – 432.16 (+1)
  4. Jose Montes – 423.75 (-2)
  5. Nick Petrangelo – 412,54 (-2)
  6. Joe Kuether – 381.10 (-1)
  7. Kevin Schulz – 360.00 (-1)
  8. Alexander Trevallion – 331.60 (-1)
  9. Steve O’Dwyer – 329.86 (-1)
  10. Manny Stavropoulos – 296.00 (-1)
  11. Brian Altman – 287.20 (-1)
  12. Marc Etienne McLaughlin – 287.00 (-1)
  13. Ognyan Dimov – 284.20 (-1)
  14. Aaron Mermelstein – 282.53 (-1)
  15. Ilkin Garibli – 282.00 (-1)
  16. Phil Ivey – 279.60 (-1)
  17. Paul Volpe – 277.80 (-1)
  18. Bryn Kenney – 277.38 (-1)
  19. Josh Kay – 266.00 (-1)
  20. Anthony Gregg – 264.60 (-1)

Dropped from Rankings: Roger Sippl (20th)

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories