Anthony Zinno on Record Pace after Winning WSOP $25K PLO Bracelet

Anthony Zinno and Brian Hastings have both had tremendous summers, but Zinno's performance on top of back-to-back WPT titles early in 2015 have put him well out in front in the BLUFF Player of the Year race.

Anthony Zinno and Brian Hastings have both had tremendous summers, but Zinno’s performance on top of back-to-back WPT titles early in 2015 have put him well out in front in the BLUFF Player of the Year race.

Anthony Zinno was having an incredible year before he ever set foot in Las Vegas for the 2015 World Series of Poker. With back-to-back World Poker Tour titles, the second and third career wins on that tour, Zinno could have struck out for the next nine months and still had an incredible year to remember.

While things started a bit slowly, with nothing for Zinno to show for the first 20 events of the WSOP, Zinno made a pair of final tables back-to-back to start pushing at Dzmitry Urbanovich’s long-standing lead in the 2015 BLUFF Player of the Year race. After another two week stretch where Zinno went quiet, he exploded in another three event stretch that will likely come to define this POY race when all is said and done.

It started with Zinno’s third cash and third final table of the 2015 WSOP, where he finished fifth in the $10,000 Limit Hold’em Championship, and it grew to an entirely different level when he made the final eight in the $111,111 One Drop High Roller. He was eventually bad beat out in seventh place, but, undeterred and in fact inspired by his level of play, Zinno jumped right into the $25,000 Pot Limit Omaha High Roller.

Zinno took control of the tournament with a couple of tables left in the tournament and never relented, eventually taking home his first career WSOP bracelet and $1,122,196 – the biggest cash of his career. With five consecutive final tables and a win in one of the biggest bracelet events of the 2015 WSOP, Zinno has taken an absolute stranglehold on the 2015 BLUFF POY race.

By comparison, Zinno has a comparable POY point total at the midway point of the year to several winners’ end of year marks. He has more than everyone in the 2014 BLUFF POY race save for Dan Colman, almost as many points as Daniel Negreanu needed to win in 2013 and a total right on par with top 2012 finishers Marvin Rettenmaier and Dan Smith.

Even with wave after wave of WSOP results, along with the $500,000 Super High Roller Bowl, Urbanovich has improbably held on to the number two spot going into the WSOP Main Event. Erik Seidel and Scott Seiver are right on his tail after their finishes in the Super High Roller Bowl, though, where Seidel took seventh and Seiver was the runner-up.

Many of the players near the top of the race at the midway point of the WSOP have maintained their spots, but it took some big results to keep up with the pack. Stephen Chidwick and Joe Kuether were the biggest movers in that time; Chidwick finished second in the Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo Championship and cashed three times after that at the WSOP to move up six spots, while Kuether won a $1 million Guaranteed event at the Venetian and cased four times after that to jump seven spots.

WSOP results have put five fresh faces in the top 20 towards the tail end of the summer. Jason Mercier, Ivan Luca and Byron Kaverman all won bracelets, Igor Yaroshevsky cashed four times and took second in the $5,000 Turbo No Limit Hold’em and Aleksandr Denisov has a sixth and two fourth place finishes among three final table appearances at the 2015 WSOP.

2015 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings (as of July 6)

  1. Anthony Zinno – 1,217.54 (+1)
  2. Dzmitry Urbanovich – 888.53 (-1)
  3. Erik Seidel – 858.06 (+1)
  4. Scott Seiver – 793.46 (+3)
  5. Nick Petrangelo – 793.09 (-2)
  6. Paul Volpe – 771.90 (-)
  7. Stephen Chidwick – 753.26 (+6)
  8. Joe Kuether – 748.86 (+7)
  9. Steve O’Dwyer – 736.46 (-4)
  10. Jason Mercier – 735.50 (NR)
  11. Ivan Luca – 727.45 (NR)
  12. Taylor Paur – 723.48 (-1)
  13. Connor Drinan – 705.12 (+4)
  14. Tom Marchese – 700.70 (-4)
  15. Ben Zamani – 694.87 (-7)
  16. Igor Yaroshevsky – 687.03 (NR)
  17. Byron Kaverman – 680.49 (NR)
  18. Dan Smith – 658.26 (-)
  19. Bryn Kenney – 634.38 (-10)
  20. Aleksandr Denisov – 630.26 (NR)

Dropped from Rankings Nick Pupillo (12th), Jason Wheeler (14th), Antanas Kavrakov (16th), Michael Wang (19th), Dominik Nitsche (20th)

The following two tabs change content below.

Tim Fiorvanti

Tim Fiorvanti graduated from St. John's University with a B.S. in Journalism in 2008. After several years in the industry, he started working for BLUFF in the summer of 2010. He worked his way up at BLUFF and joined full time as a Senior Writer in April of 2012. Fiorvanti now serves as the Managing Editor of BLUFF. He's a tortured Mets and Jets fan, along with several other frustrating allegiances, but he's also a two-time defending BLUFF Fantasy Football Champion.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories