Aussie Millions: Antonius, Ivey, Adams Make Final 36 of Main Event

Team PokerStars Pro Celina Lin is one of four women still in the Aussie Millions Main Event.

The final 36 in the 2013 Aussie Millions Main Event is star-studded with Patrik Antonius, Phil Ivey, Brandon Adams and Dan Shak all in contention for the $1.6 million first place prize money following a short day of play.

When play began on Thursday 68 players remained, four from the bubble, and it took only six hours to get down to 36 players. With play scheduled to run until Saturday ,tournament organizers stopped play with just 36 players remaining.

Leading the way is Ray Ellis with 1,0444,000. For the second consecutive day only one player finished the day past the seven-figure chip barrier. Right behind Ellis is Patrik Antonius. The Finnish poker sensation finished with 957,000.

Brandon Adams held the chip lead late on Day 3 and finished with 739,000 which puts him in sixth.┬áJames Obst, who was the only player to start Day 3 with more than 1 million, finished with 660,000 – good enough for eighth overall.

While the big names are the dominant storyline another one developing might sound familiar to WSOP fans. Four women, Celina Lin, Jay Tan, Kitty Kuo and Sam Cohen are scattered amongst the final four tables. In the history of the Aussie Millions four women have made the final table of the Main Event.

Play finished for the day at 6:30 pm which gave Antonius and Phil Ivey, who finished the day with 399,000, enough time to buy-in to the $250,000 Challenge, scheduled to start at 8 pm. (UPDATE: Due to scheduling conflicts with TV production, players still in the Main Event are not able to enter the $250,000 Challenge.)

The last former Aussie Millions champ in the field, Tyron Krost, was one of the 32 casualties on the day. Exiting along with Krost were Australian Poker Hall of Famer Gary Benson and WSOP bracelet winner Craig McCorkell.

The final 36 players will return to the tables at 12:30 local time on Thursday to play down to a final table of eight players.

Top Ten Chip Counts

  1. Ray Ellis – 1,044,000
  2. Patrik Antonius – 957,000
  3. Mervin Chan – 943,000
  4. Ang Pangleng – 928,000
  5. Jan Collado – 908,000
  6. Brandon Adams – 739,000
  7. David Yan – 696,000
  8. James Obst – 660,000
  9. Damian Baldi – 624,000
  10. Shoshiro Karita – 608,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories