Aussie Millions: Erik Seidel Wins Biggest Buy-In Tournament in History

Erik Seidel erased a 5-1 heads-up chip defecit to win the single biggest buy-in tournament in poker history Thursday night in Melbourne by besting 19 of the world’s best players in a $250,000 buy-in event at the 2011 Aussie Millions.

“I’m really, really excited to win this. This was very special because it’s such an elite field,” said Seidel. “The entry fee was so big, I didn’t want to lose $250,000. I’m just having such an amazing month, year so far. It’s just incredible.”

Seidel eliminated arguably the hottest player on the planet, Sam Trickett, heads-up to win the title and $2.5 million. For Seidel it’s his second High Roller cash in less than a week and third in a month. On Saturday the Poker Hall of Famer finished third in the $100,000 Challenge and he posted a 4th place finish in the $25,000 High Roller event at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure.

“It didn’t look good and it didn’t feel good,” Seidel said about the 5-1 chip defecit he faced against Trickett once David Benyamine was eliminated in third. “I thought well, I’m obviously not laying down. I’ll sit and play and hope things go well and then they did.”

The match turned on a call Seidel made on a board showing K 7 4 A 6. Trickett bet 250,000 and Seidel tanked before throwing in his Time Chip allowing him another 30 seconds to think about his decision. Seidel eventually called and Trickett showed 9 6. Seidel showed K T for the winning hand.

“That was a pretty critical call. That was a tough bluff he made, it really was,” said Seidel. “I really was very close to giving it up,  so that was pretty big for me. That was a big swing for me in chips.”

The $2.5 million prize boosts Seidel’s lifetime earnings to $13.1 million, good enough for 3rd overall behind Phil Ivey and Daniel Negreanu.

The final table was nothing but a playground for Trickett. He eliminated Nikolay Evdakov (9th), Phil Ivey (8th), Chris Ferguson (6th), Wang Qiang (4th) and David Benyamine (3rd) before running into Seidel and getting derailed.

The tournament attracted 20 of the best players in the world including Phil Ivey,Tom Dwan, Daniel Cates and Eugene Katchalov. The three Chinese businessmen who have been the talk of the 2011 Aussie Millions, Wang Qiang, Richard Yong and Paul Phua also played.

2011 Aussie Millions Super High Roller Event Results

  1. Erik Seidel
  2. Sam Trickett
  3. David Benyamine
  4. Wang Qiang
  5. Richard Yong
  6. Chris Ferguson
  7. Andrew Feldman
  8. Phil Ivey
  9. Nikolay Evdakov
  10. Daniel Cates
  11. Paul Phua
  12. Tony Bloom
  13. Annette Obrestad
  14. Eugene Katchalov
  15. John Juanda
  16. Alexander Kostritsyn
  17. Roland de Wolfe
  18. Tom Dwan
  19. James Bord
  20. James Obst
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories