Aussie Millions: Krost Keeps the Title in Oz

aussiemillionslogo1When Stewart Scott won the Crown Casino’s Aussie Millions Main Event title in 2009, he was the first Aussie to claim the tournament crown in the tournament’s history. Now Oz has another local boy to be proud of: Tyron Krost. Krost defeated an incredibly difficult final table line-up to keep the crown near the Crown and claim the top prize of $2,000,000 AUD. The Sydney native and PartyPoker online qualifier defeated Frederik Jensen heads-up after beginning final table play in the middle of the pack.

When the final table began, many assumed it was Sorel Mizzi’s tournament to lose since the aggressive and dangerous player held such a substantial lead over the other seven players at the final table. However, with threats like Annette “Annette_15” Obrestad and Peter Jetten at the table, nothing was in the bag. Obrestad was out of the way fairly early in final table action though. According to Obrestad’s Twitter feed, she only won one pot all day before she got it all-in with A-J to Krost’s pocket sevens. The sevens held to boost Krost up the chip counts and bust Obrestad. This is the second consecutive deep run in the event for Obrestad, who finished in 21st place in the 2009 event.

Krost was not done knocking players out either. He eliminated Steve Friedlander in 6th place and Peter Jetten in 5th to establish himself as one of the chip leaders at the table. Meanwhile, Mizzi’s massive stack slowly disappeared and he made his exit in 3rd place after losing a flip to Krost. Heads-up play came down to Krost and another PartyPoker qualifier, Frederik Jensen. On the final hand of play Krost’s K-9 held up against Jensen’s K-6 and the 23 year-old Aussie claimed the top prize.

Here are the complete results from the final table of the Aussie Millions Main Event (all payouts are in AUD):

1st: Tyron Krost – $2,000,000
2nd: Frederik Jensen – $1,100,000
3rd: Sorel Mizzi – $715,000
4th: Kosta Varoxis – $450,000
5th: Peter Jetten – $350,000
6th: Steve Friedlander – $250,000
7th: Annette Obrestad – $175,000
8th: Stephen Shelly – $125,000

Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories