Aussie Millions: Mizzi Leads Main Event, Seidel Wins $10K PLO

The final table of the Aussie Millions is set, and the tournament is Sorel Mizzi’s to lose.

Sorel Mizzi takes a commanding chip lead to the Aussie Million final table.

Sorel Mizzi takes a commanding chip lead to the Aussie Million final table.

After coming to the table in third place today, the 23-year-old Canadian played the role of a wrecking ball for the dreams of his opponents all day long. He won pre-flop coin flips, flopped flushes, and turned quads to eliminate anyone unfortunate enough to get in his way, building a stack worth 6,033,000 by the time play was stopped. That ended up being three times as much as anyone else who survived the day, guaranteeing him an improvement on his 16th-place finish from last year’s tournament.

Joining Mizzi at the table tomorrow will be his Betfair teammate, Annette Obrestad, who becomes the first woman to make the Aussie Millions Main Event final table since Kristy Gazes in 2007. She brings with her a stack worth 1,349,000, more than enough to make her dangerous – and she’s also in a prime seat at the table, sitting two spots to Mizzi’s left. Also in the mix with 1,754,000 is Canada’s Peter Jetten, who has two WSOP pot limit Omaha final tables and an EPT High Roller final table on his tournament resume but is still seeking his first title.

Falling short of the final table but still taking home a little cash were Day 1 chip leader Pierre Aoukar (18th place), 2009 Aussie Millions final tablist Elliot Smith (15th), and $100,000 Challenge champion Dan Shak, who fell in 11th place to Mizzi’s quad kings. Here’s the lineup that will take to the table tomorrow and continue playing until only the champion remains.

Seat 1: Sorel Mizzi – 6,033,000

Seat 2: Stephen Shelley – 991,000

Seat 3: Annette Obrestad – 1,349,000

Seat 4: Tyron Krost – 1,869,000

Seat 5: Frederik Jensen – 1,754,000

Seat 6: Kosta Varoxis – 635,000

Seat 7: Peter Jetten – 1,700,000

Seat 8: Steven Friedlander – 694,000

In side event news, Erik Seidel won the $10,500 Pot Limit Omaha tournament, defeating Michael Guttmann in heads-up play to claim the A$120,000 top prize. Guttmann was denied his second Aussie Millions championship of the series after having won the team event with Mel Judah on Thursday. Seidel’s win was his first ever down under despite a few close calls in the past – he finished second to Erick Lindgren in the 2007 $100,000 Challenge and then took second to Alexander Kostritsyn in the 2008 Main Event.

Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories