Aussie Millions: Tyron Krost Wins TOC and Main Event Golden Ticket

After Saturday night at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia Tyron Krost might just feel a little bit like Charlie Bucket from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Krost defeated seven other former Aussie Millions Main Event champions to win the Aussie Millions Tournament of Champions and what tournament organizers called the “Golden Ticket” – a lifetime of buy-ins to the $10,000 Aussie Millions Main Event.

To commemorate the tenth Aussie Millions, Crown Casino invented all former Aussie Millions Main Event champions to play the winner-take-all event. The field included eight of the nine former champions; Peter Costa (2003), Tony Bloom (2004), Jamil Dia (2005), Lee Nelson (2006), Gus Hansen (2007), Stewart Scott (2009), Krost (2010) and David Gorr (2011).

The only former champion missing from the event was 2008 winner Alexander Kostritsyn. The Russian poker pro was unable to attend the Aussie Millions this year as his wife is close to giving birth to the couple’s first child.

“It’s awesome, it’s a cool tournament to win. It’s a good table of players that have proven themselves, they’ve won a lot of money in big fields. This feels really good,” said Krost after he eliminated Bloom heads-up for the win. Krost, at 25 the youngest competitor in the field, missed almost 40 minutes of play just after the table started. He was at the final table of the $1,000 No Limit Hold’em w/rebuys event. He eventually finished fourth there and made his way back to the table full of champions.

The 2012 Aussie Millions Main Event begins Sunday with the first of three starting days while the $100,000 Challenge also starts on Sunday with a who’s who of poker expected to play. Jason Mercier, Daniel Negreanu, Tom Dwan and Dan Shak are all confirmed to be attending.

  1. Tyron Krost РGolden Ticket winner
  2. Tony Bloom
  3. Lee Nelson
  4. Gus Hansen
  5. Peter Costa
  6. David Gorr
  7. Jamil Dia
  8. Stewart Scott
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories