Cornel Cimpan Wins WPT Foxwoods World Poker Finals

Cornel Cimpan erased a nearly 4-1 chip defecit to eliminate Soheil Shamseddin heads-up Tuesday night at Foxwoods to take down the World Poker Tour World Poker Finals and collect his second WPT title of 2009.

Cimpan’s share of the prizepool was $910,058 – slightly more than half of the $1,686,760 he won in February for winning the LA Poker Classic. Cimpan chipped away at small pots and eliminated only Shamseddin from the final six players instead letting Shamseddin do most of the heavy lifting.

After shortstack Lee Markholt was eliminated by Matt Stout in sixth place Shamseddin went on a tear with a hot deck. First he got into a coinflip with 2 2 against the A Q of Curt Kohlberg. After the flop of A Q 5 Kohlberg was in control but the 2 on the river allowed Shamseddin to collect his first elimination of the night.

Next on the hit list was Eric Froehlich who was unable to make big slick catch up to the pocket fours of Shamseddin. Cimpan was hanging back as Shamseddin and Stout traded the chip lead back and forth until the two finally met in a big pot. With the board showing K K 4[ 3 all the money went into the middle. Shamseddin held K 9 for trip kings but Stout held 6 5 for a flush. The 9 on the river however filled up Shamseddin. A few hands later Shamseddin finished off Stout with pocket queens against K J.

When heads up play began Shamseddin held 8,020,000 chips to the 2,570,000 of Cimpan. One of the key hands came when Cimpan doubled up with Q Q against the A K of Shamseddin. Shamseddin then ran Ax Jx into the pocket aces of Cimpan to double him up yet again. The final hand came down to the A J of Cimpan against the K J of Shamseddin. The board rand dry and Cimpan added another title to his collection.

The next WPT stop is the Doyle Brunson Five Diamond Classic running from December 14 – 19.

WPT Foxwoods World Poker Finals Payouts

  1. Cornel Cimpan – $910,058
  2. Soheil Shamseddin – $463,332
  3. Matt Stout – $265,710
  4. Eric Froehlich – $232,496
  5. Curt Kohlberg – $199,283
  6. Lee Markholt – $166,069
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories