Dan Smith Leads After Day 1A of Grand Final Main Event

Dan Smith kicked off a career year in 2012 with three wins in Monte Carlo. (Photo c/o Neil Stoddart/PokerStars Blog)

Dan Smith kicked off a career year in 2012 with three wins in Monte Carlo. (Photo c/o Neil Stoddart/PokerStars Blog)

Just over a year ago at the EPT Grand Final, Dan Smith put together one of the strongest tournament runs in recent memory, winning three €5,000 tournaments in less than a week. Those three wins helped to catapult him into the spotlight as part of a year in which Smith would win over $3.5 million and finish second in the BLUFF Player of the Year race.

Smith is off to a strong start once again in Monte Carlo, taking the chiplead at the end of Day 1A of the €10,000 Main Event. The Main Event is kicking off the series this year at the EPT Grand Final, with 10 days of tournaments including a €100,000 High Roller, a €25,000 High Roller and several other €5,000 and €10,000 buy-in events.

The Day 1A turnout was lower than average, with 108 players entering by the close of registration Monday. There were 271 players on Day 1A in 2012, with the total field swelling to 665. Mohsin Charania won his first major title and €1,350,000 in the Season 8 EPT Grand Final Main Event.

Freddy Deeb finished the night in third place, well within striking distance of the lead. Jake Cody and current 2013 BLUFF Player of the Year race leader Paul Volpe also ended the night in the top ten. Ole Schemion, Barry Greenstein, Mike Watson, Justin Bonomo and Isaac Haxton are also among the 53 players who bagged chips at the end of Day 1A.

The same can’t be said for Jonathan Duhamel, Marvin Rettenmaier, Vanessa Rousso, Sorel Mizzi and Mike McDonald, among others, who failed to escape the opening day of the tournament.

Play will resume at 12 pm local time (6 am ET) in Monte Carlo. Here are the top 10 chip counts after Day 1A of the 2013 PokerStars and Monte Carlo Casino EPT Grand Final.

  1. Dan Smith – 136,500
  2. Pablo Fernandez – 135,900
  3. Freddy Deeb – 133,900
  4. Arlo Dotson – 127,100
  5. Jake Cody – 119,000
  6. El Khazen Youssef – 111,700
  7. Paul Volpe – 110,800
  8. Jan Bendik – 108,900
  9. Dmitrii Grinenko – 108,100
  10. Ignat Liviu – 98,800
The following two tabs change content below.

Tim Fiorvanti

Tim Fiorvanti graduated from St. John's University with a B.S. in Journalism in 2008. After several years in the industry, he started working for BLUFF in the summer of 2010. He worked his way up at BLUFF and joined full time as a Senior Writer in April of 2012. Fiorvanti now serves as the Managing Editor of BLUFF. He's a tortured Mets and Jets fan, along with several other frustrating allegiances, but he's also a two-time defending BLUFF Fantasy Football Champion.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories