David Yan & Robin Ylitalo Lead EPT London Main Event

David Yan holds the lead going into Day 5 of the EPT London Main Event. (Photo c/o PokerStars)

David Yan holds the lead going into Day 5 of the EPT London Main Event. (Photo c/o PokerStars)

The PokerStars EPT London Main Event closed out action on Day 4 after just four hours of play. The field was trimmed from 45 players to just 16 with David Yan (2.3 million) and Robin Ylitalo (2.1 million) holding a substantial lead over the field.

Also moving on to Day 5 are Ludovic Geilich, Jeffrey Rossiter, Tudor Purice, Kent Reed and Leo McLean. Unable to survive the day’s action were Steven Watts, Shannon Shorr, David “Devilfish” Ulliot, Timothy Adams, Daniel Weinman and Sebastian Blom.

Adams was crippled in the opening levels of the day when he held pocket tens, had Dimitrious Farmakoulis all in and covered with pocket threes. Farmakoulis spiked a three and crippled Adams. He was all in a few minutes later but fell to Carla Sabini’s pair of aces.

Watts found his way to the rail after Yan opened, Watts shoved from the big blind and Yan called with pocket sixes. Watts needed to hit the board with his A K and came close when the board ran Q T 3 4 Q. Watts hit the rail and Yan secured the chip lead for the night.

Ylitalo found his way to north of two million in hand against Purice. They were at the turn of a K 6 5 A when Purice check-raised. Ylitalo called, both players checked the 3 and Ylitalo tabled A T for top pair. Purice mucked and Ylitalo collected the healthy pot.

Ulliot’s last hand came when he played pocket eights all the way. It’s believed he went all in preflop and Georgios Karakousis called with A 3. The board ran J 5 4 A Q and Ulliot was eliminated.

Shorr found his way to the rail in a hand where he flopped top pair with a queen. He Tweeted the he made a hero call with something he picked up on a player but was wrong.

Day 5 will play until the field is eight-handed for the made-for-TV final table no matter how long it takes.

Day 4 Top Ten Chip Counts

  1. David Yan – 2,313,000
  2. Robin Ylitalo – 2,146,000
  3. Martin Kozlov – 1,664,000
  4. Georgios Karakousis – 1,615,000
  5. Stefan Vagner – 1,558,000
  6. Ludovic Geilich – 1,447,000
  7. Javier Etayo – 1,391,000
  8. Jan Olav Sjavik – 1,166,000
  9. Jeffrey Rossiter – 977,000
  10. Tudor Purice – 831,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join PokerNews.com. After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories