EPT: Giant Field in Deauville Means $1.15 Million 1st Place Payday

This year’s PokerStars.fr European Poker Tour Deauville Main Event may not have surpassed the 891-player field last year’s event drew.  It certainly came close though.  With 889 players in this year’s event, the stop effectively matched last year’s gigantic field, not to mention generated a prize pool of €4,627,200.

Thanks to a turnout of 550 players for Day 1B of the €5,300 buy-in event, the top 128 finishers in the event will make the money and the winner will take home €875,000 (roughly $1.15 million).

The Day 1B field included a ton of notables, including reigning EPT Deauville champ Lucien Cohen and past EPT Deauville winner Jake Cody. Cohen failed to survive to the end of the day, while Cody bagged up 78,400 chips.  Other big names who made it through the day include Chris Karagulleyan (108,700), Nacho Barbero (106,300),  David “Bakes” Baker (104,500), Vanessa Rousso (96,400), Toby Lewis (93,200), Shannon Shorr (75,300), Ari Engel (53,600), Luca Pagano (46,900), Praz Bansi (46,400), and Scotty Nguyen (33,100).

While plenty of names survived the day, several others found themselves in Cohen’s position on the rail by day’s end.  Vicky Coren, Roberto Romanello, Eugene Katchalov, Bertrand Grospellier, David Benyamine, Vanessa Selbst, and Fabrice Soulier were among the 225 Day 1B casualties.

The player on top of the counts at the end of the day was Amir Salhani, who ended with 191,100 chips.  That puts him way out front of the rest of the field, with his next closest competitor Joakim Lofgren with 173,000.  Toufik Ouirini rounds out the top three Day 1B counts with 166,800.

The 325 Day 1B survivors will return with the Day 1A crowd for Day 2 action on Thursday.  There are 546 players still in the running for the latest EPT title.

Here are the top ten chip counts from the end of Day 1B of the EPT Deauville Main Event:

1. Amir Salhani – 191,100
2. Joakim Lofgren – 173,000
3. Toufik Ouirini – 166,800
4.  Bartosz Kocinski – 142,000
5. Aurelien Guiglini – 133,700
6. Raphael Kroll – 132,000
7. Jannik Moser – 131,400
8.  Saul Berdugo – 130,900
9. Xavier Detournel – 128,800
10. Leandre Omeir – 125,900

Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories