Haixia Zhang Earns 2 Bounties, $10K Chiplead Bonus on Day 1B of 2015 Bay 101 Shooting Star

Haixia Zhang knocked out Shooting Stars Jeff Madsen and Dan Shak on her way to the Day 1B chiplead in the 2015 Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic.

Haixia Zhang knocked out Shooting Stars Jeff Madsen and Dan Shak on her way to the Day 1B chiplead in the 2015 Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic.

A lot can happen in 11 hours of poker, and on Day 1B of the 2015 WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic, a lot did.

That was especially the case when it comes to Haixia Zhang, who ended Tuesday’s action with 281,000 and the chiplead. In addition to earning the $10,000 bonus for that honor, Zhang – who won the 2014 WSOP Ladies Championship – also busted Shooting Star bounties Jeff Madsen and Dan Shak.

Chance Kornuth bagged 235,100, which was good for second on Day 1B, while Mark Dube (197,500), BLUFF contributor Dan O’Brien (181,600) and 2001 Bay 101 Shooting Star champion Carlos Mortensen each closed strong in their own rights.

Sitting just behind them is Kevin Mathers, BLUFF’s Manager of Poker Information who is also one of the Shooting Stars to advance to Day 2. He’ll have 172,100 to start, and Mathers looks to capture his first career WPT cash during a long day of poker Tuesday.

Recent LAPC runner-up Mike Leah (165,300) is up among the top stacks as well – as is Anthony Zinno (136,800), who managed to run up a big stack on his second bullet with hopes of lighting the WPT record books on fire after back-to-back wins at Fallsview and the LAPC.

Other champions club members to advance on Day 1B include the last person to win a WPT title who’s not named Anthony Zinno, Borgata Winter Poker Open champion Aaron Mermelstein (160,000), who’s joined by fellow champions Jared Jaffee (159,200), Antonio Esfandiari, Andy Frankenberger and Chris Moorman, among many others.

BLUFF.com WPT One to Watch Candace Collins joins Day 1A survivor Garrett Greer in advancing to Day 2.

All-told, 155 players bagged chips at the close of Day 1B, pushing the total for the start of Day 2 to 261. Registration remains open until the first card goes into the air, however, at which time the field will be set and all prize information will be released. First place is already guaranteed over $1.1 million, regardless of how many more sign up Wednesday morning.

Demand for a seat was so high Tuesday that it took some alternates until after the dinner break to be seated, and the final tally for Day 1B eventually hit 389. The combined field for both days so far is 700 even. They’re already close to the 718 who played at Bay 101 in 2014, and they’ll almost certainly edge even closer by the time all’s said and done.

Day 2 is set to be a long one, as the structure sheet indicates they’ll try to play all the way down to 24 players before the night is through. The first two levels of the day will be one hour, and all subsequent levels are scheduled at 90 minutes all the way down to the final table. Action kicks off at 11 pm PST and we’ll have a full recap of the day’s action once things wrap at the end of the night.

2015 WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic – Combined Day 1 Chip Counts

  1. James Carroll – 297,600
  2. Ravee Mathi – 282,000
  3. Haixia Zhang – 281,000
  4. David Miscikowski – 253,900
  5. John Hennigan – 248,700
  6. Brian Rast – 237,000
  7. Chance Kornuth – 235,100
  8. Ron Lewis – 234,600
  9. Justin Young – 224,300
  10. Michael Loncar – 221,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Tim Fiorvanti

Tim Fiorvanti graduated from St. John's University with a B.S. in Journalism in 2008. After several years in the industry, he started working for BLUFF in the summer of 2010. He worked his way up at BLUFF and joined full time as a Senior Writer in April of 2012. Fiorvanti now serves as the Managing Editor of BLUFF. He's a tortured Mets and Jets fan, along with several other frustrating allegiances, but he's also a two-time defending BLUFF Fantasy Football Champion.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories