Jason Helder Grabs Massive Day 1A Lead at bestbet Bounty Scramble

The WPT bestbet Bounty Scramble is underway in Jacksonville.

The WPT bestbet Bounty Scramble is underway in Jacksonville.

It was just a few short months ago that Jason Helder grabbed the attention of the poker world with his $1,000,000 win at the WinStar River Poker Series Main Event. On Friday, while Darren Elias was busy winning WPT Caribbean, Helder put on a dominating performance on Day 1A of the WPT bestbet Bounty Scramble in Jacksonville, Florida.

Helder bagged up 400,400. His next closest competitor, Florida’s own John Racener, bagged up just 237,700. As part of the tournament format for this event, Day 1A and 1B end-of-day chipleaders earn a $5,000 bonus. There are also 31 players designated as bounties. Busting any of those players on their first bullet in the re-entry event earns the player a $2,500 bounty.

The rest of the top ten includes a number of highly respected tournament pros. Mohsin Charania, Shannon Shorr, Jonathan Little, Jared Jaffee, John Dolan, Brian Hastings and reigning WPT Player of the Year Mukul Pahuja all finished Day 1A with big stacks. All seven of those players entered the tournament with a $2,500 bounty on their heads.


There were 196 entries on Friday with players able to re-enter through the end of Level 6. Only 76 players survived the full ten levels of play. Noah Schwartz, Matt Salsberg, Scotty Nguyen, Shaun Deeb and Matt Glantz were amongst the players who busted. Mike Leah, who is chasing Daniel Colman for BLUFF Player of the Year, was eliminated late on Day 1A and intends to fire another bullet on Saturday in hopes of closing the 302.66 point difference. Current Heartland Poker Tour POY leader Aaron Massey was also a Day 1A casualty.

Day 1B gets underway at Noon local time on Saturday.

Day 1A Top 10 Chip Counts

  1. Jason Helder – 400,400
  2. John Racener – 237,700
  3. Mohsin Charania – 233,200
  4. Shannon Shorr – 219,400
  5. Diane Mendez – 188,700
  6. Jonathan Little – 188,700
  7. Jared Jaffee – 181,200
  8. John Dolan – 146,000
  9. Brian Hastings – 132,600
  10. Mukul Pahuja – 88,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at BLUFF.com
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, ThePokerBiz.com in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories