Jason Helder Leads Final 27 at WPT bestbet Bountry Scramble

Jason Helder finished Day 2 of the WPT bestbet Bounty Scramble with the biggest stack.

Jason Helder finished Day 2 of the WPT bestbet Bounty Scramble with the biggest stack. (Photo courtesy Joe Giron/WPT)

Through two full days of play and 434 eliminations, Jason Helder continues to lead the World Poker Tour bestbet Bounty Scramble in Jacksonville, FL. Helder finished Day 2 on Sunday with 1,312,000, just ahead of Daiane Mendes who wrapped up her second day of play with 1,235,000.

Sunday saw the 161 players who survived Day 1A and Day 1B combine to one field. Helder, who bagged up 400,400 on Day 1A started the day as the overall chipleader and never really looked back. There are a few familiar faces still in contention, including Mike Gracz, Christian Harder and Justin Zaki but possibly the most surprising player in the top ten at the end of Day 2 was 2006 WSOP Main Event champion Jamie Gold.

Gold finished with 580,000, good enough for the ninth largest stack. Gold, who famously won the largest WSOP Main Event in history, hasn’t been the model of success over the past eight years. He’s cashed just 14 times since 2006, including only once in the last 2.5 years, with the highlight being a ninth place finish at the 2010 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship. A top-12 finish in this event would give Gold his biggest cash since winning the WSOP title.

Included in the 134 players who were eliminated on Day 2 were a number of the designated bounties. Mukul Pahuja, Jonathan Little, Andy Frankenberger, Jason Mercier, Matt Salsberg and Noah Schwartz were all eliminated before the money, earning the player that sent them to the rail a $2,500 score. The last remaining bounty is Shannon Shorr. He finished with 272,000 – the eighth smallest stack.

The 461-player field generated a prizepoool of $2,100,000 with the eventual champion walking away with $420,000.

Play resumes at noon ET and will continue until they reach the TV final table of six.

Top 10 Chip Counts

  1. Jason Helder – 1,312,000
  2. Daiane Mendes – 1,235,000
  3. Mike Gracz – 1,158,000
  4. Christian Harder – 1,126,000
  5. Farhan Madhani – 997,000
  6. Brian Reinert – 678,000
  7. Corey Hochman – 633,000
  8. Justin Zaki – 605,000
  9. Jamie Gold – 580,000
  10. Saied Zamiri – 502,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at BLUFF.com
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, ThePokerBiz.com in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories