Kan Leads, Barer, Ivey Chasing After Aussie Millions Main Event Day 3

Raiden Kan leads the 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event after Day 3. (Photo courtesy PokerStars/APPT)

Raiden Kan leads the 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event after Day 3. (Photo courtesy PokerStars/APPT)

Raiden Kan leads the final 30 players in the 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event but his big lead isn’t the only story in play after Day 3 wrapped up.

Kan finished with 1,775,000 and is well in front of Andrew Chen (1,165,000), Brian Rast (1,156,000) and Gerald Karlic (1,085,000), the only other players to break the 1,000,000 chip mark.

Defending champ Ami Barer continues to push for back-to-back title and finished with 443,000. Right behind him is Phil Ivey with 439,000. This marks the third time in four years that Ivey has cashed in the Aussie Millions Main Event. He finished 12th in 2012 and followed that up with a 30th place finish in 2013.

Jan Suchanek, who started the day with the chip lead finished just outside of the top ten with 657,000. Other notables still in the field include Jonathan Roy (467,000), Grant Levy (471,000) and Tony Hachem (409,000).

The shortest stack still in the hunt is Mike McDonald. The Canadian poker pro ended Day 3 with 160,000 – good enough 13 big blinds when action resumes on Day 4.

The bubble burst on Thursday leaving 63 players with nothing to show for their efforts. Phillip Gruissem busted in 74th place with James Kennedy stone-bubbling the event with a 73rd place finish.

Alex Trevallion’s run at three straight final table appearances was cut short with a 33rd place finish. Trevallion, who won the $25,000 Challenge earlier this week, will have to wait until Saturday for the $100,000 Challenge to resume. Other players who were among the 42 players eliminated in the money on Thursday were Felix Stephensen (43rd), Bryan Huang (48th) Terrence Chan (49th).

The final 30 players will resume play on Friday and play down to a final table before taking Saturday off so the final table of the $100K Challenge can play to a winner.

Top Ten Chip Counts

  1. Raiden Kan – 1,775,000
  2. Andrew Chen – 1,165,000
  3. Brian Rast – 1,156,000
  4. Gerald Karlic – 1,085,000
  5. Richard Lyndaker – 943,000
  6. Lennart Uphoff – 796,000
  7. Joel Douaglin – 765,000
  8. Terence Clee – 750,000
  9. Calvin Ho – 720,000
  10. James Rann – 684,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at BLUFF.com
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, ThePokerBiz.com in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories