Marathon Man: Jean Montury Wins EPT Malta Main Event Title

Jean Montury survived a marathon final table to win the EPT Malta Main Event. (Neil Stoddart/PokerStars photo)

Jean Montury survived a marathon final table to win the EPT Malta Main Event. (Neil Stoddart/PokerStars photo)

After almost 15 hours of final table action, including a marathon heads-up battle, Jean Montury emerged as the European Poker Tour Malta Main Event champion, after eliminating Valentin Messina in second place, to take home the €810,400 ($882,442 US) first place prize.

All told Montury and Messina played 148 hands of heads-up poker over the course of seven hours. When heads-up play started Messina held 15.1 million of the 26.75 million chips in play, but wasn’t able to make that chip lead hold up.

“I know I won a lot of money, but it was not about that. It was more about getting the trophy, winning the EPT. The heads-up was incredible, so long. My opponent won four or five all-ins, so I thought it’s almost impossible to beat him,” said Montury, who runs a hotel in Lille, France. “I hope now that I’ll win a lot of other tournaments. I will play lots of EPTs and I am also going to Las Vegas in the summer.”

On the final hand, with blinds of 300,000/600,000 (100,000 ante), Messina open-shipped 8,700,000 with 5 5 and Montury called with A T. The board ran out J J 6 4 6 to counterfeit Messina’s fives and give the title to Montury.

The six-handed final table began at 2 PM local time and ended at 4:58 AM.

2014 PCA Main Event winner Dominik Panka finished third for €347,300.

The €5,300 buy-in event, the first European Poker Tour event held  in Malta, attracted 895 players and created a total prizepool of €4,340,750.

The next, and final, stop on the EPT Season 11 schedule is the EPT Grand Final in Monaco, April 28-May 8, 2015.



Final Table Payouts

  1. Jean Montury – €810,400
  2. Valentin Messina – €492,000
  3. Dominik Panka – €347,300
  4. Stefan Schillhabel – €260,500
  5. Javier Gomez Zapatero – €205,300
  6. Hossein Ensan – €153,700
  7. Remi Wyrzykiewicz – €76,000
  8. Fedor Holz – €60,290
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories