Martin Jacobson and Darren Elias Grab POY Leads Late in Respective Races

Martin Jacobson looks likely to add BLUFF Elite Player of the Year honors to his WSOP Main Event title and over $10 million in earnings in 2014. (Drew Amato photo)

Martin Jacobson looks likely to add BLUFF Elite Player of the Year honors to his WSOP Main Event title and over $10 million in earnings in 2014. (Drew Amato photo)

It was a very quiet week in the 2014 BLUFF Player of the Year race – which is good news for Dan Colman, who is seemingly one week closer to wrapping up the title.

After playing the WPT Alpha8 event in St. Kitts, Colman opted not to head to Prague for the final EPT of the year and its €50,000 Super High Roller. Mike Leah, the one person with a realistic shot of catching Colman in the last few weeks of 2014 with some big results, advanced to Day 2 only to wash out before the money on Wednesday.

The Main Event and a handful of bigger side events at Prague – along with the WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic at Bellagio, which starts Monday, and the WPT Alpha8 at the same venue – stand as the last few chances for significant gains in the 2014 BLUFF Player of the Year race.

While there wasn’t a lot of movement in the top 20 this week, one player did manage to make a significant move. Chris Bolek won the $2 Million Guaranteed Seminole Rock and Roll Poker Open Main Event for nearly half a million dollars – a win that helped shoot him all the way up to 16th in the 2014 BLUFF POY standings. It’s been quite a month for Bolek, who also finished second in the WPT bestbet Bounty Scramble, and a good year too; Bolek ran deep in both the Monster Stack and the Millionaire Maker at the 2014 WSOP, and won his first WSOP Circuit ring in February.

Things have been anything but quiet in the five different BLUFF POY buy-in tiers. Colman appears to have just as strong a lock on High Roller POY as he does on the Overall title, but Fabian Quoss quietly climbed to second with his ACOP High Roller victory in November.

Long-time Elite POY leader Dominik Panka lost his grip on the top spot when Martin Jacobson won the 2014 WSOP Main Event. The Main Event title comes with the biggest POY point windfall, but Jacobson’s new-found lead wouldn’t be possible without his fourth place finish in the $25,000 Challenge at the Aussie Millions and a final table bubble in the $10,000 Six Max event at the WSOP.

The BLUFF Triple-A Player of the Year race saw an equally jarring shakeup in the last few weeks. James Calderaro had been the top dog since February, but Darren Elias‘ back-to-back WPT titles make him the one to beat with just a few weeks left to go in 2014. Both WPT South Africa champion Dylan Wilkerson and WPT Montreal champion Jonathan Jaffe managed to pass Calderaro, but all four players – along with reigning WPT Player of the Year Mukul Pahuja – could easily wrest this award away from Elias with one good result.

2014 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings (as of December 3)

  1. Dan Colman – 1,447.70 (-)/li>
  2. Mike Leah – 1,145.04 (-)
  3. Dan Smith – 949.35 (-)
  4. Ami Barer – 930.79 (-)
  5. Martin Jacobson – 888.50 (-)
  6. Ole Schemion – 859.61 (-)
  7. Davidi Kitai – 844.75 (-)
  8. George Danzer – 797.35 (-)
  9. Jake Schindler – 794.85 (-)
  10. Mustapha Kanit – 790.48 (-)
  11. Mike McDonald – 774.68 (-)
  12. Joe McKeehen – 768.22 (-)
  13. Doug Polk – 757.75 (-)
  14. Mukul Pahuja – 752.40 (-)
  15. Olivier Busquet – 742.52 (-1)
  16. Chris Bolek – 741.93 (NR)
  17. Brandon Shack-Harris – 740.55 (-1)
  18. Joe Kuether – 733.91 (-1)
  19. Dominik Panka – 730.59 (-1)
  20. Simon Deadman – 719.84 (-1)

Dropped from Rankings: Dylan Wilkerson (20th)

BLUFF High Roller POY

  1. Dan Colman – 870.00
  2. Fabian Quoss – 594.10
  3. Vanessa Selbst – 524.50
  4. Ole Schemion – 495.16
  5. Doug Polk – 455.00

  1. Martin Jacobson – 772.25
  2. Dominik Panka – 673.55
  3. Mike Leah – 639.90
  4. George Danzer – 627.20
  5. Alex Bilokur – 624.30

  1. Darren Elias – 434.00
  2. Dylan Wilkerson – 417.90
  3. Jonathan Jaffe – 407.65
  4. James Calderaro – 403.20
  5. Mukul Pahuja – 391.44

  1. Joe McKeehen – 742.92
  2. Aaron Massey – 624.68
  3. Erwann Pecheux – 540.15
  4. Jeff Madsen – 531.96
  5. Eric Blair – 520.90

  1. Dave Banerjee – 212.47
  2. Gevork Kasabyan – 194.12
  3. Edison Shields – 168.35
  4. Mike Eskandari – 165.13
  5. Paul Chauderson – 158.28
The following two tabs change content below.

Tim Fiorvanti

Tim Fiorvanti graduated from St. John's University with a B.S. in Journalism in 2008. After several years in the industry, he started working for BLUFF in the summer of 2010. He worked his way up at BLUFF and joined full time as a Senior Writer in April of 2012. Fiorvanti now serves as the Managing Editor of BLUFF. He's a tortured Mets and Jets fan, along with several other frustrating allegiances, but he's also a two-time defending BLUFF Fantasy Football Champion.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories