Mike Leah Leads Power Rankings, Steve O’Dwyer Joins Top 20

Mike Leah at the WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic. (Photo courtesy of WPT)

Mike Leah at the WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star Classic. (Photo courtesy of WPT)

Mike Leah‘s past two years saw him win nearly $3 million with 20 final tables to lead the BLUFF Power Rankings, but Dan Colman’s $22 million 2014 campaign earned all the headlines with the second spot in the rankings.

David Peters jumped ten spots ten spots to land inside the top ten and Pratyush Buddiga edged Peters out climbing two spots himself. Steve O’Dwyer‘s constant travel and international success put him in the top 20 with a couple of cashes at EPT Malta.

In the past two years Leah has cashed 14 times and made eight World Series of Poker final tables in Las Vegas, Europe and Australia along with a dozen other final tables in World Poker Tour, European Poker Tour and WSOP Circuit events. He cashed seven times for six-figures and scored a $1.04 million payday for a runner-up finish to Colman at the 2014 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open.

Peters picked up 260 Player of the Year points from winning the EPT Malta High Roller II and $651,895. He topped a field that included Nick Petrangelo, former November Niners Sylvain Loosli and Marc Etienne McLaughlin, Mike McDonald and O’Dwyer.

Buddiga had a six-figure March starting with a third place finish at the WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star High Roller event. He picked up $98,000 for his efforts, but no POY points as the event didn’t meet the minimum field requirements. But he picked up 132 POY points from winning a Six-handed Turbo event at EPT Malta for $71,486.

O’Dwyer eschewed US-based events and plays international events exclusively – he last cashed in the Lower 48 in June of 2013. He climbed to the 12th spot following a pair of cashes at EPT Malta after winning a PokerStars Macau Cup event earlier in the month.

BLUFF Poker Player Power Rankings (as of March 30)

  1. Mike Leah – 1,454.77 (-)
  2. Daniel Colman – 1,440.65 (-)
  3. Joe Kuether – 1,411.72 (+1)
  4. Ole Schemion – 1,389.18 (-1)
  5. Pratyush Buddiga – 1,301.91 (+2)
  6. David Peters – 1,301.91 (+10)
  7. Scott Seiver – 1,271.52 (-2)
  8. Daniel Negreanu – 1,255.54 (-2)
  9. Stephen Chidwick – 1,243.48 (+1)
  10. Dan Smith – 1,212.84 (-1)
  11. Davidi Kitai – 1,175.96 (-3)
  12. Steve O’Dwyer – 1,126.90 (NR)
  13. Mukul Pahuja – 1,114.95 (-2)
  14. Martin Jacobson – 1,082.66 (+1)
  15. Aaron Massey – 1,064.54 (-3)
  16. Jason Mercier – 1.054.02 (-3)
  17. Olivier Busquet – 1,042.32 (-3)
  18. Jeff Madsen – 1,032.44 (-)
  19. Ari Engel – 1,029.12 (-2)
  20. Mark Dube – 1,000.76 (-)

Dropped from Rankings: Ami Barer (19th)

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join PokerNews.com. After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories