Peter Tran Keeps Lead as 12 Remain in LAPC; Leah, Zinno, Klodnicki in the Mix

Peter Tran had some tough decisions on Day 4 of the WPT LA Poker Classic, but enough of them turned out well that he'll take almost twice as many chips into Wednesday as Mike Leah, who's second.

Peter Tran had some tough decisions on Day 4 of the WPT LA Poker Classic, but enough of them turned out well that he’ll take almost twice as many chips into Wednesday as Mike Leah, who’s second.

His style of play and demeanor seemed unconventional at several points on Day 4 of the WPT LA Poker Classic and throughout the tournament, but there’s little arguing with the results that Peter Tran’s put up so far.

Tran bagged the chiplead for the third time in four days Tuesday at the LAPC, and with 4,120,000 he has nearly twice as many chips as Mike Leah, who sits in second with 2,240,000. Just 12 players made it through to playdown day for Thursday’s televised final table, and those two are positioned well to vie for one of those coveted six spots.

Peter Neff (1,682,000) and Edward Ochana (1,401,000) are the only two other players with above-average stacks, due to the top-heavy distribution of chips. There are some heavy-hitters a little further down, though, with Chris Klodnicki, Ray Henson, Anthony Zinno and Ken Aldridge each in the mix for a spot in the final table in their own right.

Zinno is the last champion standing in this LAPC, and he’s already extended his WPT Player of the Year lead with his seventh cash of Season XIII and third finish of 12th or better. There’s no one individual factor behind such a streak of success, in Zinno’s mind – it’s a combination of a wide range of different changes in circumstance.

“I’ve been playing for 10 years, professionally for about eight, and I’ve been working really, really hard on my game,” said Zinno. “There was a point about four years ago I decided that if I was going to do this, I’m going to go all in; play as many hands as I can, multiple variants of poker – a lot of PLO, Limit Hold’em, Omaha Eight or Better. Heads-up, Six Max, everything I could get my hands on to add different elements to my No Limit game.”

“That big mix of games, plus a lot of work,” continued Zinno. “Every time I make a mistake I go hard on myself. Lots of discipline on the road, trying not to party too much, getting a good sleep. All those discipline factors do add up, and of course, there’s always the run good – looking down at kings every once in a while doesn’t hurt.”

It was a hectic start to play on Day 4 and Erik Seidel was one of the first out the door on Day 4, finishing in 41st place. Glenn Lafaye (40th) and Connor Drinan (39th) were right behind him, and while he was able to earn one pay bump Daniel Negreanu was unable to keep his hopes of an historic third WPT title alive and went out in 35th during the first level of play Tuesday.

Former WPT Player of the Year Joe Serock (33rd), Champions Club members Scott Seiver (32nd) and Shawn Buchanan (25th), Eddy Sabat (21st) and Greg Mueller (19th) met their ends in the LAPC during the midway point of the day. Elizabeth Montizanti was knocked out in 15th, and for at least one more event in its 13 year history the WPT continues to look for it’s first female champion in an open event.

David Sands wast tormented by Tran in several hands during the late stages of Day 4, and eventually the chipleader took Sands out in 14th with 45 minutes left to go in the night. Ron West was the last one to go out at the end of the night, leaving the field at 12 going into the final table’s playdown day.

In a new twist on the structure, blind levels will be extended to 2 hours for Day 5. Play resumes at 12 pm PST, and they’ll go as long as necessary to lock in the final six for Thursday’s final table.

2015 WPT LA Poker Classic – End of Day 4 Chip Counts

  1. Peter Tran – 4,120,000
  2. Mike Leah – 2,240,000
  3. Peter Neff – 1,682,000
  4. Edward Ochana – 1,401,000
  5. Igor Yaroshevskyy – 1,215,000
  6. Vladimir Dobrovolskiy – 1,185,000
  7. Chris Klodnicki – 1,054,000
  8. Ray Henson – 759,000
  9. Tim Cramer – 621,000
  10. Anthony Zinno – 565,000
  11. Ken Aldridge – 543,000
  12. Vadim Baranovsky – 451,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Tim Fiorvanti

Tim Fiorvanti graduated from St. John's University with a B.S. in Journalism in 2008. After several years in the industry, he started working for BLUFF in the summer of 2010. He worked his way up at BLUFF and joined full time as a Senior Writer in April of 2012. Fiorvanti now serves as the Managing Editor of BLUFF. He's a tortured Mets and Jets fan, along with several other frustrating allegiances, but he's also a two-time defending BLUFF Fantasy Football Champion.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories