Phil Ivey Leads Aussie Millions $250,000 Challenge After Day 1

No surprise: Phil Ivey leads the 2015 Aussie Millions $250K Challenge after Day 1. (Photo courtesy PokerStars/APPT)

No surprise: Phil Ivey leads the 2015 Aussie Millions $250K Challenge after Day 1. (Photo courtesy PokerStars/APPT)

Phil Ivey has won the Aussie Millions LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge twice in the last four years. Sunday in Melbourne he put himself in position to win it a third time, finishing Day 1 with the chip lead with just ten players remaining.

Ivey bagged up 958,000 on a single bullet in the unlimited re-entry event. Doug Polk sits second with 863,000 after busting once and re-entering. Ivey’s career earnings in this event alone is $5,578,874.

Six players who final tabled the $100,000 Challenge earlier this week also made it to Day 2 of the $250,000 Challenge Jason Mo, who finished fifth in the $100,000 Challenge, sits third with 784,000. Scott Seiver, coming off of a third place finish in the $100,000 Challenge busted twice before finally finding success with his third bullet. He now sits fourth with 632,000. Rounding out the top five is Igor Kurganov with 549,000.

Richard Yong, who won the $100,000 Challenge for the biggest single score of his tournament career, finished in 7th with 458,000. Erik Seidel, who won this event in 2011, sits ninth with 381,000. The shortest remaining stack belongs to the player Yong beat heads-up to win the $100,000 Challenge; Ole Schemion. The German pro bagged up just 152,000.

The opening day finished with 23 entries with registration open until the start of Day 2. Players who decide to re-enter on Day 2 will start the day with 12.5 big blinds. Payouts will be announced after registration closes. Last year’s event finished with a total of 46 entries with 37 coming on Day 1.

Players who were eliminated on Day 1 that could re-enter at the start of Day 2 are Isaac Haxton, Steve O’Dwyer, Sam Trickett, Praytush Buddiga, Stephen Chidwick, Paul Newey, Ryan Fee, Philipp Gruissem, Stanley Choi, Tobias Reinkemeier.

Top Ten Chip Counts

  1. Phil Ivey – 958,000
  2. Doug Polk – 863,000
  3. Jason Mo – 784,000
  4. Scott Seiver – 632,000
  5. Igor Kurganov – 549,000
  6. Mike McDonald – 519,000
  7. Richard Yong – 458,000
  8. Dan Smith – 453,000
  9. Erik Seidel – 381,000
  10. Ole Schemion – 152,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories