Poker Hall of Fame Calls “Robin Hood” and “The First Lady of Poker”

The Poker Hall of Fame has two new members.

The Poker Hall of Fame came calling for Barry Greenstein and Linda Johnson on Wednesday. The two were announced as the 2011 class and will be inducted during the WSOP’s November Nine festivities.

Greenstein, known as the “Robin Hood of Poker” for donating some of his tournament winnings to charities, has three WSOP bracelets and two World Poker Tour titles to his credit. His $ 7,172,562 lifetime earnings ranks him 27th all-time.

“I’m happy to be inducted into the Hall of Fame alongside my friend Linda Johnson who has been the most fervent ambassador for poker for as long as I can remember,” Greenstein said.

Johnson, known within the poker industry as the “First Lady of Poker”, has had success at the tables – including a WSOP bracelet win in 1997 – and has had a huge hand in building the game of poker. Johnson’s off-the-felt successes include purchasing CardPlayer Magazine in 1993 and doubling the number of pages while vastly improving the quality of the product, launching CardPlayer Cruises and co-founding the Poker Tournament Directors Association as well She also works with the World Poker Tour and the Poker Players Association and.

“I am extremely proud and humbled to be voted into the Poker Hall of Fame. I feel lucky to have been involved in many facets of poker over the past 35 years. Being recognized by the industry is a tremendous honor,” said Johnson who is the second woman in the Poker Hall of Fame along with Barbara Enright.

Getting into the Hall of Fame is a three step process. The WSOP, which oversees the Poker Hall of Fame, first allows anybody to suggest names for nomination. Those names are then forwarded to the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council to be narrowed down to ten names. Those ten names are then sent to a 17 members of the poker media and 18 living members of the Hall of Fame. The two names receiving the most points (voters are given ten points to divy up as they please) are inducted.

Voters must consider the following criteria when casting their ballot:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition.
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination.
  • Played for high stakes.
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers.
  • Stood the test of time.
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Others who were nominated this year but not selected for induction were Annie Duke, Jennifer Harman, John Juanda, Marcel Luske, Jack McClelland, Tom McEvoy, Scotty Nguyen and Huck Seed. All eight remain eligible for future inclusion. Both Greenstein and Johnson were nominated but not inducted in 2010.

The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories