Poker Hall of Fame Unveils Class of 2010 Nominees

Seidel is the early frontrunner of this year's HOF nominees
Seidel is the early frontrunner of this year's HOF nominees

Last year, most everyone in the poker community assumed World Poker Tour host Mike Sexton was going to be the latest addition to the Poker Hall of Fame before the nominees were even announced. This year, the names of the inductees are a little less obvious, but the field of contenders has been narrowed to the following ten players:

Chris Ferguson
Barry Greenstein
Jennifer Harman-Traniello
Dan Harrington
Phil Ivey
Linda Johnson
Tom McEvoy
Daniel Negreanu
Scotty Nguyen
Erik Seidel

The Poker Hall of Fame released the list of the ten HOF nominees on Wednesday and seven of the ten finalists from 2009 made the list again in 2010. Buzz around the poker community is that one of those players, Erik Seidel, is the frontrunner to get inducted. Up to two people can be inducted into the Hall of Fame each year, so there is a chance for another player to be a part of the Class of 2010 as well.

The Hall of Fame changed its rules slightly this year, allowing for two nominees and lowering the required percentage of votes from 75% to 50%. The panel of voters has grown as well, with each of the 16 living HOF inductees casting a vote in addition to 17 members of the poker media.

This year 102 individuals received nominations during the public voting process, 44 of which received multiple nods. As we mentioned, most of the players on the list were on the ballot last year. The new additions to the finalists are Chris Ferguson, Jennifer Harman-Traniello, and Linda Johnson. Men Nguyen made the ballot in ’09, but was left out this year. Tom “durrrr” Dwan also made the top ten last year, but was removed by panel because he was too young to meet the criteria of “standing the test of time.” Dwan did not make the top ten in 2010, making him and Nugyen the only two players not to appear on both the ’09 and ’10 ballot.

The 2010 inductees into the Poker Hall of Fame will be honored as part of the WSOP November Nine festivities.

Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories