Poker Hall of Fame Welcomes 2010 Class: Erik Seidel and Dan Harrington

Over the past few weeks the poker community has been debating exactly who would be getting the call when the 2010 Poker Hall of Fame inductees were announced. Well debate no more as Erik Seidel and Dan Harrington have been officially announced as the newest members of poker’s most prestigous club.

The duo become the 39th and 40th members of the Poker Hall of Fame joining the likes of Doyle Brunson, Johnny Moss, Johnny Chan, Jack and Benny Binion and 2009 inductee Mike Sexton. Seidel and Harrington received the most votes by a 33-member panel which included 16 living members of the Hall of Fame and 17 media members. For Seidel it’s special to be included amongst the legends but extra-special to go in with one of his dearest friends and another former member of the legendary Mayfair Club in New York City.

“I’m very honored to be elected to the Poker Hall of Fame this year and it’s an extra bonus for me to be going in with Dan Harrington,” said Seidel. “We have played together and have been great friends for my entire poker career. Both of us refined our games at the Mayfair Club in New York. I have such a high regard for the many members of the Poker Hall of Fame that I have played with over the years and it’s a real privilege to be able to join them.”

Seidel’s career achievements include eight World Series of Poker bracelets, a World Poker Tour title and five other career victories. He was also the runner-up to Chan in the 1988 WSOP Main Event – a scene immortalized in the movie Rounders. With $10,350,014 in lifetime earnings Seidel sits 10th on the all-time money list. Seidel’s bracelets have come in five different variations: No Limit 2-7, No Limit Hold’em, Pot Limit Omaha, Limit Hold’em and Omaha Hi-Lo.

Harrington, known as “Action Dan”, is the 1995 WSOP Main Event champion. He’s cashed three other times in the Main Event most impressively was his back-to-back final tables in 2003 and 2004 where he posted 3rd and 4th place finishes respectively. He too has a WPT title to his name having won the Legends of Poker in 2007. His lifetime earnings are $6,090,241 but his mark on the poker industry might best be felt in the printed word. Beginning in 2006 Harrington teamed with Bill Robertie to pen Harrington on Hold’em Volumes 1, 2 and 3. Those three books are considered by many of todays newer players to be the book for tournament poker players. He followed those best sellers up with Harrington on Cash Games and Harrington on Online Cash Games.

Seidel and Harrington came out on top of the ten finalists meaning that Chris Ferguson, Barry Greenstein, Jennifer Harman-Traniello, Phil Ivey, Linda Johnson, Tom McEvoy, Daniel Negreanu and Scotty Nguyen did not earn enough votes to be inducted. Only the top two vote getters are inducted. Greenstein, Ivey, Johnson, McEvoy, Negreanu and Nguyen were all nominated in 2009 as well. Those players will be eligible for nomination again in 2011.

To be considered the player must have meet the following criteria:

  • The player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition.
  • The player must have played for high stakes.
  • The player must have played consistently well, gaining the respect of their peers.
  • The player must have stood the test of time.
  • If the nominee was not a player, they must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The two players will be formally inducted in a ceremony on November 8 as part of the November Nine festivities.

The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories