POY: Mike Leah Returns to Top Five with World Poker Tour Fallsview Win

Mike Leah rocketed up the standings to 4th place.

Mike Leah rocketed up the standings to 4th place.

The current 2014 BLUFF Player of the Year standings still have Mike McDonald and Dominik Panka head and shoulders above the field by 260 points. Mike Leah made the largest climb in the standings moving into the fourth spot with a recent win at the World Poker Tour Fallsview Poker Classic.

Leah has been in the top 30 spots for most of the year, with a couple appearances in the top 20, and shot up the standings to fourth place overall with two cashes at WPT Fallsview in the last week. He first won a $1,005 preliminary event for $108,630 and 160 POY points.

Then he had a deep run in the Main Event where he finished in 35th place for $10,117 and 9.75 POY points. With those two scores, Leah sits less than $50,000 away from the $2 million career earnings mark.

Fabian Quoss sits in third place edging out Leah by just a few points. Qouss is in the third spot primarily due to his win in the $100,000 Super High Roller at the PCA. The win alone accounted for 250 of his POY points and $1.6 million. Quoss picked up a few POY points with his 26th place finish at the $25,000 PCA High Roller, but cemented his place in the top three spots with his fifth place finish at the $250,000 LK Boutique Challenge. He earned $715,775 and 95 POY points in Melbourne.

Quoss’ spot in the rankings appears to be tentative as he primarily focuses on High Roller events. However, three European Poker Tour events remain – Vienna, San Remo and the Grand Final – before the World Series of Poker kicks in late May and Quoss could pick up a head full of steam before heading to Las Vegas.

Players on the domestic circuit will have six WPT tour stops to play, beginning with the LAPC Main Event kicking off on Saturday, March 1. The LAPC serves as the launching point for the WPT California Swing, which travels to the Bay 101 Shooting Star in San Jose and then finishes at Thunder Valley for WPT Rolling Thunder.

2014 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings (as of February 26, 2014)

  1. Mike McDonald – 640.00 (-)
  2. Dominik Panka – 620.00 (-)
  3. Fabian Quoss – 359.10 (-)
  4. Mike Leah – 352.95 (NR)
  5. Ami Barer – 310.10 (-1)
  6. Vanessa Selbst – 306.00 (-1)
  7. Jacob Schindler – 299.60 (-1)
  8. Mustapha Kanit – 299.08 (-1)
  9. Anthony Merulla – 280.00 (-1)
  10. Oliver Price – 279.00 (-1)
  11. Sotirios Koutoupas – 272.00 (-1)
  12. Simon Deadman – 257.05 (-1)
  13. Yevgeniy Timoshenko – 250.00 (-1)
  14. Phil Ivey – 250.00 (-1)
  15. Dan Shak – 247.60 (-1)
  16. Farid Jattin – 242.60 (-1)
  17. Eli Heath – 240.68 (-1)
  18. Alex Bilokur – 240.00 (-1)
  19. Mark Sandness – 240.00 (-1)
  20. Joe Kuether – 235.90 (-1)

Dropped from Rankings: Tyler Morris (20th).

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join PokerNews.com. After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories