POY: Mike McDonald Takes Over Top Spot, Phil Ivey in Top 20

Mike McDonald took over the 2014 BLUFF POY lead.

Mike McDonald took over the 2014 BLUFF POY lead.

The current 2014 BLUFF Player of the Year race has a new leader after Mike “Timex” McDonald took over the top spot after a huge showing at the Aussie Millions. Phil Ivey, Yevgeniy Timoshenko and Ami Barer all landed in the rankings from their wins in Melbourne.

The large fields at the Aussie Millions coupled with six-figure buy-ins reshuffled the top 20 spots and German standout Fabian Quoss was the only player in the top 20 from last week to trend upwards.

McDonald has had a month that most players only dream about – he has four final tables, three of which were in high roller events, and booked $4.3 million in cashes. He made both six-figure high roller events final tables and edged out Dominik Panka for the lead. McDonald didn’t even have plans to attend the Aussie Millions and didn’t arrive in time to even play the Main Event.

Ivey collected his single largest tournament cash after winning his second $250,000 Challenge at the Aussie Millions to put his lifetime earnings at just shy of $20 million. The win was his first tournament cash in four months and only fourth overall since last year’s Aussie Millions. The de-facto number one player in the world had been in Cabo working on launching his Ivey League.

Barer picked up nearly 300 POY points for his Aussie Millions Main Event win and $1.4 million. It’s his first live win of his career and the prize is nearly ten times larger than his previous largest cash. He had five previous final tables in the last year in mostly EPT events.

Timoshenko raised some eyebrows when he won the $100,000 Challenge at the Aussie Millions which featured a 30-second shot clock. Timoshenko has long been known as one of the slowest players to act on the circuit and actually tried to unregister from the event once he realized it had a shot clock.

Quoss has three in-the-money finishes in 2014 all in high roller events, including a win in the $100,000 Super High Roller at the PCA. He jumped five spots in the rankings with his fifth place finish in the record-breaking $250,000 event that Ivey won and was the lone German to cash.

Current 2014 BLUFF Player of Year Top 20

  1. Mike McDonald – 640.00 (+1)
  2. Dominik Panka – 620.00 (-1)
  3. Fabian Quoss – 359.10 (+5)
  4. Ami Barer – 310.10 (NR)
  5. Vanessa Selbst – 306.00 (-2)
  6. Mustapha Kanit – 299.08 (-2)
  7. Jacob Schindler – 282.00 (-2)
  8. Anthony Merulla – 280.00 (-2)
  9. Sotirios Koutoupas – 272.00 (-2)
  10. Yevgeniy Timoshenko – 250.00 (NR)
  11. Phil Ivey – 250.00 (NR)
  12. Dan Shak – 247.60 (-3)
  13. Farid Jattin – 242.40 (-3)
  14. Eli Heath – 240.68 (-3)
  15. Alex Bilokur – 240.00 (-3)
  16. Joe Kuether – 235.90 (-3)
  17. Tyler Morris – 231.00 (-3)
  18. Isaac Baron – 228.00 (-3)
  19. Michel Kirchner – 227.60 (-3)
  20. Alexander Condon – 226.28 (-3)

Dropped from Rankings: Matt Glantz (18th), Niels Van Leeuwen (19th), Max Altergott (20th)

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join PokerNews.com. After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories