Ryan Van Sanford Leads bestbet Final Table

Ryan Van Sanford leads the final table of the World Poker Tour besbet Jacksonville Bounty Scramble. (photo credit Joe Giron/World Poker Tour)

Ryan Van Sanford leads the final table of the World Poker Tour besbet Jacksonville Bounty Scramble. (photo credit Joe Giron/World Poker Tour)

Earlier this month, Ryan Van Sanford sent the following tweet:

Van Sanford decided to head to the World Poker Tour bestbet Bounty Scramble Main Event, and after busting out on Day 1A, he tried again on Day 1B, his birthday. So far the decision has worked in his favor as he leads the final six players when play resumes November 11.

Day 3 started with 27 players contending for the six seats at the televised final table with Jason Helder on top of the chip counts once again in a field featuring a pair of previous WPT winners in Anthony Zinno and Michael Gracz, 2006 WSOP Main Event winner Jamie Gold, and tournament regulars including Christian Harder, Shannon Shorr, Justin Zaki and Darryll Fish.

Anthony Zinno was the first player eliminated in Monday’s play when he held pocket aces against the pocket kings of Van Sanford. Zinno flopped a set, but Van Sanford caught running cards to make a flush to give Zinno an early exit. Shannon Shorr, Austin Buchanan and Darryl Fish had an early day as well in the first round of eliminations. Jamie Gold earned his biggest cash in an open event since 2009 with his 17th place finish. He was later joined by Michael Gracz (11th), Justin Zaki (14th), Jacob Bazeley (15th) to collect their money.

Ryan Van Sanford and Jason Helder were the top two stacks when the field combined to a final table of ten players. On the first hand, Christian Harder ran his pocket queens into the aces of Farhan Madhani and Saied Zamiri. Harder couldn’t improve as the rest of the players headed for dinner break. Upon returning it was Zamiri out in ninth when his A K couldn’t win the flip against the J J of Day 1B chip leader Corey Hochman. Helder then sent short stack Andrew Ziskin packing in eight place when Helder’s A 7 held against Ziskin’s JT.

Jason Helder tried to get the field down to the televised final table of six, but Hochman and Madhani were able to double through to keep their chances of making the final table alive. When Madhani open-shoved for 30 big blinds with K Q Helder snap-called with A 9 and when the board ran out 8 6 5 2 9 play ended for the evening.

Joining Van Sanford, Helder and Hochman at the final table are WSOP Circuit ring winners Brian Reinert and Christopher Bolek. Jared Reinstein rounds out the field, he may have the home felt advantage with several results at the bestbet poker room. Each player is guaranteed $81,335 as the winner earns a 2015 WPT World Championship seat in Atlantic City and $421,068.

WPT bestbet Bounty Scramble Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Ryan Van Sanford – 4,850,000
  2. Jason Helder – 3,670,000
  3. Brian Reinert – 2,150,000
  4. Christopher Bolek – 1,345,000
  5. Jared Reinstein – 1,090,000
  6. Corey Hochman – 695,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Kevin Mathers

Widely known by his twitter handle "Kevmath", many consider Kevin a go-to source for news and information in the poker community. Kevin finished on the bubble in the 2014 edition of the BLUFF Power 20.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories