Tom Marchese Tops POY, Scott Seiver, Phil Ivey Debut in Rankings

Tom Marchese at the 2013 WSOP. (Photo by Jay Newnum)

Tom Marchese at the 2013 WSOP. (Photo by Jay Newnum)

Tom Marchese debuted in the 2015 BLUFF Player of the Year rankings in the top spot in a week where eight new players earned their way into the top 20, including Scott Seiver, Phil Ivey and Erik Seidel.

The 2015 Aussie Millions wrapped up and along with the PCA, the two events set the stage for early POY leaders each year. Manny Stavropoulos, Richard Yong and Seidel all benefited from their time at the Crown Melbourne.

However, Marchese didn’t pick up any of his January scores abroad – he won back-to-back $25,000 Aria High Rollers. He chopped the first one with Ben Lamb and earned $383,000 and 235 POY points. The next day he won again after beating Anthony Gregg heads up for almost $300,000 and another 235 POY points.

Seiver traveled to the PCA and the Aussie Millions and earned $1.98 million for his efforts. He final tabled both High Rollers in the PCA and then took third and fourth respectively in the Aussie Millions $100,000 and $250,000 events.

Ivey won the LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge for the third time in four years for $1.7 million and 250 POY points – which pushed him over the $20 million mark for career earnings. Ivey also picked up a cash in the Main Event, finishing in 23rd place for $31,757 and 29.6 POY points.

Seidel is one of the most successful tournament players in history and his three cashes this year also put him in the $20 million club. He turned in a fifth and sixth place finish in the Aussie Millions $100,000 and $250,000 events for a combined $816,577 and 177.5 POY points.

Starvropoulos had two previous cashes in the Aussie Millions Main Event and his 15th place finish in 2011 was the largest cash of his career. But he bested a 648-player field to win the title, $1 million and 296 POY points.

Yong, one of the biggest Macau players, earned just his eighth tournament cash by taking down the Aussie Million $100,000 event for $1.4 million and 250 POY points. His average buy-in across his live results is $214,285.

2015 BLUFF Player of the Year Standings (As of February 4)

  1. Tom Marchese – 470.00 (NR)
  2. Scott Seiver – 402.16 (NR)
  3. Kevin Schulz – 360.00 (-2)
  4. Alexander Trevallion – 331.60 (+2)
  5. Steve O’Dwyer – 329.86 (-3)
  6. Manny Stavropoulos – 296.00 (NR)
  7. Nick Petrangelo – 287.26 (-4)
  8. Ilkin Garibli – 282.00 (-4)
  9. Phil Ivey – 279.60 (NR)
  10. Bryn Kenney – 277.38 (+4)
  11. Aaron Mermelstein – 275.38 (NR)
  12. Anthony Gregg – 258.00 (NR)
  13. Roger Sippl – 252.55 (+6)
  14. Diego Ventura – 252.00 (-10)
  15. Richard Yong – 250.00 (NR)
  16. Ramin Hajiyev – 245.86 (-7)
  17. Josh Kay – 238.00 (-10)
  18. Jose Montes – 231.00 (-10)
  19. Erik Seidel – 229.86 (NR)
  20. Jonathan Duhamel – 223.00 (-10)

Dropped from Rankings: Pratyush Buddiga (11th), Joe Kuether (12th), David Vamplew (13th), Nicholas Immekus (15th), Dzimitry Urbanovich (16th), Chance Kornuth (17th), Aleksandr Denisov (18th), Rajee (Rob) Wazwaz (20th)

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories