Tournament Tracker: LAPT, LAPC, and the Latest from Copenhagen

Evdakov won two prelims and is still alive in the LPAC Main Event too
Evdakov won two prelims and is still alive in the LAPC Main Event too

The big stories and big tournaments this week came courtesy of two similarly-initialed events, the Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) stop in Sao Paolo and the LA Poker Classic (LAPC) at the Commerce Casino in Los Angeles.

Over in Brazil, the latest stop on the circuit was the largest in LAPT history with 536 runners and a prize pool in excess of $1.4 million for the $3,010 buy-in event. Alex Manzano claimed the landmark LAPT win, earning over $370,000.

While there was a huge turnout in Brazil, the events in LA were producing some respectable fields with a ton of noteworthy names. The $5,000 buy-in Heads-Up Championship drew 48 tough competitors and resulted in another cash for the red-hot Erik Seidel. Seidel came up short of the finals though, with it instead coming down to Nick Rampone and Scott Seiver, with Rampone taking the victory and the top prize of over $81,000, not to mention a seat in the LAPC Main Event.

Nikolay Evdakov picked up his second win of the tournament series shortly before the Main Event and Randy Dorfman notched one of the biggest scores of the series so far when he won the $5,100 buy-in preliminary event for over $160,000.

The EPT stop in Copenhagen also produced some interesting side event results. Fernando Brito picked up another win in a small side event and Anton Wigg final tabled another. As a reference point, one Danish Krone (DKK) is worth roughly 18.5 cents.

Here are the results from this week’s big tournaments around the world:

LAPT Sao Paolo Main Event (5,000BRL/$3,010 buy-in)
Prize Pool: $1,439,873
Entrants: 536

1st: Alex Manzano – $370,764
2nd: Joao Neto – $212,378
3rd: Marcelo Fonseca – $135,340
4th: Marcio Motta – $99,338
5th: Leandro Csome – $70,554
6th: Santiago Nadal – $56,153
7th: Henrique Bernardes – $41,752
8th: Bruno Politano – $27,357

LA Poker Classic $5,100 No Limit Hold’em Event
Prize Pool: $487,400
Entrants: 101

1st: Randy Dorfman – $163,270
2nd: Nicholas Levi – $90,170
3rd: Shannon Shorr – $66,290
4th: Seth Fischer – $46,790
5th: Nick Binger – $35,580
6th: Jon Turner – $25,830
7th: Amir Levahot – $20,960
8th: Ardavan Yazdi – $16,080
9th: Mark Dickstein – $12,190
10th: Richard Woodall – $10,240

LA Poker Classic $5,100 Heads-Up No Limit Hold’em Championship
Prize Pool: $231,630
Entrants: 48

1st: Nick Rampone – $81,480 + $10,000 LAPC Main Event Seat
2nd: Scott Seiver – $63,160
3rd: Fabrice Soulier – $33,830
4th: Justin Young – $24,160
5th: Erik Seidel – $14,500
6th: John Racener – $14,500

EPT Copenhagen DKK16,200 buy-in No Limit Hold’em

Prize Pool: DKK1,209,600
Entrants: 84

1st: Giacomo Maisto – DKK364,864
2nd: Tomasz Cybulski – DKK280,000
3rd: Anton Wigg – DKK220,000
4th: Thomas Holm – DKK1114,912
5th: Stian Johannessen – DKK84,672
6th: Kasper Colding – DKK60,480
7th: David Ruiz Del Portal – DKK48,384
8th: Tatu Arseli Maenpaa – DKK36,288

EPT Copenhagen DKK8,100 buy-in No Limit Hold’em
Prize Pool: DKK720,000
Entrants: 100

1st: Sergej Saletic – DKK252,000
2nd: Bulat Bikmetov – DKK144,000
3rd: Jesper Christensen – DKK86,400
4th: Danny Dabbagh – DKK64,800
5th: Candido Goncalves – DKK50,400
6th: Anders Meli – DKK36,000
7th: Martin Sejer – DKK28,800
8th: Rudolf Koster – DKK21,600

Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories