WPT: Steve O’Dwyer Headines Venice Final Table

O'Dwyer will finish the year in the top ten of the BLUFF POY race

It has been a breakout year for Steve O’Dwyer and there would be no more fitting conclusion for his 2011 than a WPT title.  O’Dwyer has been at a World Poker Tour final table, finishing sixth in the 2009 Five Diamond World Poker Classic Main Event.  Now, O’Dwyer is the seasoned vet at the six-handed WPT Venice final table, which will play down to a winner on Sunday.

When the day began, O’Dwyer was near the bottom of the counts and Marvin Rettenmaier was at the top.  Rettenmaier and many of the start of day big stacks had trouble though.  O’Dwyer took a chunk out of Rettenmaier early by doubling thru him and Rettenmaier exited in eighth place when Michele Caroli flopped a gutshot, turned a double gutter, then rivered a straight and got it all-in against Rettenmaier’s flopped top pair. Rettenmaier earns just over €15,000 for his finish.

Rettenmaier was not the only notable to hit the rail over the course of Day 4 action in Venice.  The day began with fifteen players and WPT winner Roberto Romanello was the first player to hit the rail.  Ronnie Bardah exited in 13th place not too long after and Frenchman Arnaud Mattern headed home in 11th place.

Those who survived the day along with O’Dwyer include chip leader Michele Caroli, who ended the day with 2,097,000, and Russian Alex Dozhenko, who has been making deep runs in several events on the European circuit this year.  Caroli kicked off his day with a bang and only built his stack up from there.  He will begin the final table as the only player over two million cihps.  His next closest competition is Edoardo Alescio, who will begin play with 1,714,000.

Andrea Benelli is the only other player at the final table who will start with a seven-figure stack.  O’Dwyer, Dozhenko, and Andrea Dato will each begin with around 500,000.  Blinds will start at 8,000/16,000 ante 2,000.

Here are the chip counts and seat assignments for the WPT Venice final table:

Seat 1: Edoardo Alescio – 1,714,000
Seat 2: Michele Caroli – 2,097,000
Seat 3: Andrea Dato – 461,000
Seat 4: Andrea Benelli – 1,143,000
Seat 5: Steve O’Dwyer – 501,000
Seat 6: Alex Dozhenko – 480,000

Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories