WSOP End of Day: Dwan to Day 2, Schmelev Leads 7 Stud Championship

Tom "durrrr" Dwan will make his first Day 2 of the 2010 WSOP.
Tom "durrrr" Dwan will make his first Day 2 of the 2010 WSOP.

Today at the World Series of Poker Phil Hellmuth was ousted of the $1,500 No Limit Hold’em, railbirds, WSOP suits and the media all let out a collective groan. High hopes for a historic 12th bracelet were dashed, but he did collect a record 75th WSOP in the money finish.

Today saw two new events kickoff, a $1,500 No Limit Hold’em and a $1,500 Limit Hold’em, and two events marched towards their final tables, the $10,000 World Championship Seven-card Stud and the $1,500 Pot Limit Hold’em events. The Stud event saw 12 players finish with Player’s Championship runner-up Vladimir Schmelev holding the chip lead.

Pascal LeFrancois won the bracelet in the $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event.

Event 11: $1,500 No Limit Hold’em

Another huge field filled the Grand Pavilion room as 2,563 entrants registered for the event. They generated a prize pool of  $3,460,050 with first place receiving $614,248. Play ended with 297 players remaining and Casey Jarzabek as the chip leader. Play will be slow on Saturday with the money bubble at 270, no player wants to return for a Day 2 without making the money.

Tom “durrrr” Dwan has made his first Day 2 of this WSOP. He has been without a cash up to this point he has been busting early from events.

Notable players moving on to Day 2 are Erick Lindgren, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Brett Jungblut, Tony Dunst, Jerry Yang, Thor Hansen, Brandon Cantu, Shaun Deeb and Andrew Lichtenberger.

Top Ten Chip Counts for $1,500 No Limit Hold’em:

  1. Casey Jarzabek – 105,200
  2. James Lee – 101,900
  3. Neil Taylor – 97,100
  4. Jason Young – 90,000
  5. Eric Ladney – 88,000
  6. Blair Hinkle – 75,000
  7. Minh Nguyen – 65,000
  8. Jessica Dawley – 63,000
  9. Neil Channing – 50,000
  10. Tom “durrrr” Dwan – 47,000

Event 8: $1,500 No Limit Hold’em:

The field of 25 returning players had to first narrow down to a final nine before Pascal LeFrancois took control and won the gold bracelet. The final table was an international affair with an excited rail of Brazilians, Aussies and French Canadians cheering on their countrymen.

LeFrancois took home a $568,974 first place prize.

Event 9: $1,500 Pot Limit Hold’em

Today saw 65 players return and actually make the final table of nine players. Stephen Chanthabouasy is your chip leader, just barely edging out James Dempsey.

J.J. Liu is the first woman to make a final table this year and she may hold the edge of the most on-felt experience. She is third in chips and will be making her first final table since 2003, where she finished in second place in a Ladies Limit Hold’em & Seven-card Stud event.

Final Table Chip Counts for $1,500 Pot Limit

  1. Stephen Chanthabouasy – 533,000
  2. James Dempsey – 528,000
  3. J.J. Liu – 479,000
  4. Joseph Williams – 385,000
  5. Mark Babekov – 246,000
  6. Gregg Wilkersen – 230,000
  7. Scott Haraden – 224,000
  8. Armen Kara – 220,000
  9. Edward Brogdon – 89,000

Event 10: $10,000 World Championship Seven-card Stud

Vladimir Schmelev is the Day 2 chip leader and if were not for Sirious Jamshidi, the top two chip leaders would be inverse of Day 1 with Michael Mizrachi chasing the Russian. Play ended with 12 players and they will return on Saturday to play down to a winner at 3 p.m. (PT).

Chip Counts for $10,000 World Championship Seven-card Stud:

  1. Vladimir Schmelev – 921,000
  2. Sirious Jamshidi – 638,000
  3. Michael Mizrachi – 544,000
  4. Nikolay Evdakov – 543,000
  5. Steve Billirakis – 448,000
  6. Joe Cassidy – 410,000
  7. Men Nguyen – 302,000
  8. Dan Heimiller – 222,000
  9. Eric Buchman – 142,000
  10. Ray Dehkharghani – 132,000
  11. Brandon Adams – 115,000
  12. Todd Barlow – 85,000

Event 12: $1,500 Limit Hold’em

The late event saw 625 players register for the event and only 189 players remain. The field has some work cut out for it on Saturday with the money bubble set at 63. Phil Ivey skyrocketed to the chip lead midway through today’s play, but he couldn’t maintain the lead and ends the day about average in chips.

Sorel Mizzi has been crushing tournaments all year becoming the the huge front runner for the 2010 BLUFF Player of the Year. He has not much had much success so far at the WSOP, but will return tomorrow with a top ten chip count.

“My day was not too bad, I was down to 1,500. But then I won a really big pot when I had queens vs aces vs kings and spiked a straight on the river, and I’ve been doing well ever since,” Mizzi said. “I’ve been playing tight-aggressive and looking for spots. I’m looking forward to tomorrow, I love playing events other than No Limit Hold’em.”

Top Ten Chip Counts for $1,500 Limit Hold’em:

  1. Jameson Painter – 47,600
  2. David Williams – 41,800
  3. Kengo Ito – 40,400
  4. Eric Rivkin – 37,100
  5. David Gee – 36,600
  6. Ryan Bambrick – 35,000
  7. Shawn Buchanan – 32,000
  8. Stephen Murphy – 32,000
  9. Sorel Mizzi – 27,000
  10. Jeff Madsen – 25,000

Tomorrow’s Preview: Saturday, June 5, 2010

Two final tables are on the schedule: the $10,000 World Championship Seven-card Stud and the $1,500 Pot Limit Hold’em events. Be sure to go to and make your picks for the Streak 2 Seven game.

The first of two starting days for the second $1,000 No Limit Hold’em tournament of the series kicks off at noon. Last week’s opening weekend for the WSOP saw 4,345 entrants generate a near $4 million prize pool in the first $1,000 buy-in event.

Two Day 2s will also resume to attempt to play down to a final table.

The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories