Yevgeniy Timoshenko Wins 2014 $100K Challenge, $2 Million

Tevgeniy Timoshenko went from wanting out of the $100K Challenge to winning it all.

Tevgeniy Timoshenko went from wanting out of the $100K Challenge to winning it all.

Just a few minutes after the $100,000 Challenge began at the 2014 Aussie Millions Yevgeniy Timoshenko was having second thoughts. The 25 year old poker pro was unaware the tournament featured a 30 second shot clock and he wanted out. The tournament had started however and Timoshenko wasn’t allowed to un-register. Good thing. Early Sunday morning Timoshenko beat Mike “Timex” McDonald heads up to win the title, $2,000,000 AU and the championship ring.

Day 2 began with 29 survivors from Day 1 and an additional 10 players entering prior to registration closing before Day 2 began. It took 5.5 hours of play to get to the eight-handed final table with German pro Fabian Quoss bubbling the official final table and the money.

Timoshenko claimed his first victim of the final table when a short-stacked Martin Jacobson moved all-in with A 7. Timoshenko called with A K and after the board ran out K 9 5 Q 6 Jacobson was sent to the cashier cage to collect $350,000 for his eighth place.

It took a little over one hour for another player to bust. David Steicke, short stacked thanks to Erik Seidel, was all in for the last of his chips holding J 7 against Seidel’s 8 8. With a K K 8 flop, Seidel eliminated Steicke in seventh place. Steicke, who won this event in 2009, had to settle for a $450,000 pay day.

Not long after Steicke’s departure Daniel Negreanu was eliminated but not before he secured himself a profit, albeit a small one. Left with little to work with Negreanu moved all in with A T and McDonald re-raised to force Doug Polk out leaving the two Canadians heads-up. McDonald had Negreanu dominated with A Q. The Q J 8 flop gave McDonald top pair but a straight draw for Negreanu. The 3 turn and T river failed to make Broadway for Negreanu and he was eliminated in sixth earning $550,000. The reigning BLUFF Player of the Year fired five bullets in this event, meaning he profited only $50,000.

McDonald, who began the day as chipleader, continued to pick up eliminations. After McDonald called Antonius’ pre-flop pot-sized raise the two players were heads up to a flop of 6 5 2. Antonius moved all-in for a little more than three big blinds and McDonald called. Antonius tabled J 8 and found himself needing some help after McDonald flipped up pocket sevens. Neither the 6 turn or 5 were of any use to Antonius and the Full Tilt Poker Professional was out in fifth place for $700,000.

The next player to go was Polk who was at the first final table of his career. Seidel opened for a pot-sized raise, Polk three-bet all-in and Seidel called. Polk showed A T while Seidel, who finished third in this event in 2011, showed pocket queens. The board ran out J 7 5 8 K and Polk headed for the exit with and extra $860,000 to his name.

Polk’s elimination left three players; McDonald, Timoshenko and Seidel, who were all in for only one entry. Seidel, who signed up Saturday morning after busting the Main Event in 10th place the night before, would have to settle for a carbon copy of his 2011 result thanks to Timoshenko. McDonald folded his button, Timoshenko, who had Seidel covered, moved all-in from the small blind and Seidel called. When the cards were turned over Seidel was in good shape with J 8 against the 8 6 of Timoshenko but the 8 6 3 flop put the eight-time bracelet winner on the ropes. Neither the turn or river saved Seidel and he was eliminated in third place for $1,076,000.

Heads-up play lasted just over 90 minutes. When McDonald and Timoshenko began heads-up play Timoshenko had a slight chip lead. The final hand saw Timoshenko open from the button, McDonald re-raised before Timoshenko announced he was all-in. McDonald called and tabled T 7 while Timoshenko, who had McDonald down 6-1 when the hand began, tabled K Q. McDonald could only watch as the dealer laid out the 6 5 2 8d 3 board, leaving Timoshenko in the lead the whole way with king-high. McDonald earned $1,500,000 for second place.


The win is only the second career live victory for Timoshenko. His only other victory came at the 2009 WPT Championship event at Bellagio.

As a result of his runner-up performance McDonald inches closer to Dominik Panka in the BLUFF Player of the Year race when the rankings are updated. Last month McDonald finished runner-up in the 2014 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event and eighth in the $100,000 buy-in Super High Roller. He has now recorded a six-figure score in each of the past four months.

2014 Aussie Millions $100K Challenge Payouts

  1. Yevgeniy Timoshenko – $2,000,000
  2. Mike McDonald – $1,500,000
  3. Erik Seidel – $1,076,000
  4. Doug Polk – $860,000
  5. Patrik Antonius – $700,000
  6. Daniel Negreanu – $550,000
  7. David Steicke – $450,000
  8. Martin Jacobson – $350,000
The following two tabs change content below.

Lance Bradley

Editor in Chief at
Editor in Chief: Lance Bradley began working with BLUFF in March 2008 and was named Editor in Chief in August 2009. Prior to joining BLUFF Bradley launched an independent poker blog, in 2006. Before entering the world of poker media he was the Poker Room Manager for Bodog from January 2004 until June 2006. He graduated from the Applied Journalism program Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver, Canada.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories